Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 10/9/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Killer Mike & Big Boi – The Fox Song
Billy Bragg – A New England
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Talking Straight
The Decemberists – Bandit Queen
Holy Ghost! – Anxious
Cautious Clay – Cold War
The Rapture – House Of Jealous Lovers
Perfume Genius – Queen
Robyn – Honey
Yaeji – One More
Anderson.Paak ft. Kendrick Lamar – Tints
Charli XCX and Troye Sivan – 1999
Ghostface Killah ft. Luke Holland, Reignwolf, Vic Spencer x Sheek Louch – Whiskey Slippers
Ramin Djawadi – Seven Nation Army (White Stripes cover)
Bedouine – Come Down In Time (Elton John cover)
Pip Blom – Come Home
altopalo – [Head in a] Cloche
Maribou State ft. Khruangbin – Feel Good
Surf Rock Is Dead – Away Message
Childish Gambino – Feels Like Summer
Daniel T – Moonlight Bounce
Ava Luna – Centerline
Ruby Haunt – It Will Happen The Next Time Around
Georgia ft. Shygirl – Mellow
Parcels – Lightenup
Kate Teague – Gilly
Neil Frances – Ask Me Anything
Red Ribbon – Your Car

Gone Sugar Die cover Days Go by Dirty Vegas

 photo GoneSugarDie_zpstqmzsdvn.jpg

Cheeky, new backyard video concept by “dirt-pop” band Gone Sugar Die covering the Dirty Vegas classic “Days Go By.” Pretty straight-forward with a little auto-tune and a lot less breakdancing. Gone Sugar Die features Mike Hindert, formerly of The Bravery, along with drummer Duncan Lee and vocalist Patrick McWilliams.

Original Dirty Vegas version:

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 10/2/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Gorillaz – Tranz
Yumi Zouma – Powder Blue/Cascine Park
Phosphorescent – C’est La Vie No. 2
Yaeji – One More
Robyn – Honey
Clairo ft. Danny L Harle – B.O.M.D.
Omar Apollo – Erase
Kero Kero Bonito – Dear Future Self
Club Kuru – 49 Years
Jaguar Dreams – Behind Those Clothes
Chain Wallet – Ride
Broken Social Scene – Old Dead Young
A Place To Bury Strangers – Look Me In The Eye
Farao – Lula Loves You
Den-Mate – XOSO
Bambi Lou – Another Life
St. Vincent – Slow Slow Disco
kempt – BLISSING?
BC Kingdom – Yung Stunna
NAVVI – Sampaguita
Jorja Smith – On Your Own
Westerman – Albatross
Kate Teague – Gilly
Morabeza Tobacco – Defenders Of The Glam
Molly Nilsson – Days Of Dust
The Hidden Shelf – Begin Again
Shortwaved – So Long, Pt. 2
Madeline Kenny – Perfect Shapes
Jackie Cohen – Tacoma Night Terror

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 9/25/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Little Simz – Offence
Richard Swift – Sept20
EZTV – Daytime
Dilly Dally – Sober Motel
Omar Apollo ft. Teo Halm – Today
Brockhampton – J’Ouvert
Petite Noir ft. Danny Brown & Nukubi Nukubi- Beach
The Sha La Das – Those Years Are Over
Red Ribbon – Your Car
The Dodos – SW3
Miya Folick – Stop Talking
Dana Dentata – TND
Pip Blom – Come Home
Banofee – Muscle Memory
Oklou – They Can’t Hear Me
D33J ft. Deb Never & Schlomo – Nothing Left
Aolani – Medicate For You
Ambar Lucid – Listen
Den-Mate – Charlotte
Grapetooth – Red Wine
Villagers – A Trick Of The Light
Black Belt Eagle Scout – Indians Never Die
Microwave – Keeping Up
Laura Carbone and The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – The Flowers Beneath Your Feet
Racquet – Nothing Matters
Phosphorescent – Christmas Down Under
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – Gainesville
Kevin Devine – Into The Great Wide Open (Tom Petty cover)

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 9/18/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Dwight Yoakam – Guitars, Cadillacs
Bleached – Sour Candy
Bully – Bully
Alex Lahey – Let’s Go Out
The Black Keys – Keep Me
Hamilton Leithauser ft. Angel Olsen – Heartstruck (Wild Hunger)
Khurangbin – Maria Tambien
HEALTH x Soccer Mommy – Mass Grave
Charli XCX – SuperLove
Big Boi x Phantogram – Fell In The Sun
Postiljonen – Go!
Yumi Zouma – Crush (It’s Late, Just Stay)
Parcels – Lightenup
Stealing Sheep – Sunk
Durand Jones & The Indications – Is It Any Wonder
Maribou State ft. Khruangbin – Feel Good
Rostam – In A River
Hoops – Gemini
Sylvan Esso ft. Collections Of Colonies Of Bees – Funeral Singers (Califone cover)
David Bazan – The Commander Thinks Aloud (Long Winters cover)
Small Black – Boys Life
Steve Mason – Stars Around My Heart
Men I Trust – Tailwhip
fwdslxsh – Fall
Lera Lynn – Run The Night
The Shivas – Honey
Value Void – Teen For Him
Cigarettes After Sex – K.
Tommy and The Commies – Suckin’ IN Your 20’s

Premiere: Surf Rock is Dead Stream “Away Message” Ahead of Upcoming Debut LP

 photo srid2_zps0irakvvh.png

Brooklyn outfit Surf Rock is Dead has slowly been perfecting their craft over the last several years recently reaching a high point with last year’s We Have No Friends? EP. While specifics are still a bit scarce at the moment, the pair of Kevin Pariso and Joel Witenberg are inching closer to another milestone with their debut LP expected to come in the coming months via The Native Sound. “Away Message” is the first confirmed cut from the release coming in at just over three satisfying minutes.

Soothing vocals are bleached out by a sparkling guitars and a non-stop wall of drums pulling in elements of dream-pop and shoegaze. It arrives just in time to provide tribute and a proper send-off the fading summer, while also indicating they have still not reached their apex as a band.

Check out the track below right now and find it here for download and streaming through other providers.

Margo Price Releases “Leftovers” for Amazon Music’s New “Produced By” Series

 photo margo-price-leftovers_zpsyt2dhkgn.jpg

Amazon Music’s new “Produced By” series spotlights today’s talented, underrepresented producers. Along with Margo Price’s “Leftovers,” Memphis-based Matt Ross-Spang produced songs for John Prine, Al Green, and William Bell for his “Produced By” feature.

Margo said:

“I wrote ‘Leftovers’ based on the kinds of people that don’t have any original ideas of their own. It could be anything from stealing a song idea, to copying someone else’s style, or dating an ex of a good friend….I also really just wanted to rhyme ‘asshole’ with ‘casserole’ and this seemed like the perfect opportunity. Matt Ross-Spang is a legendary producer and engineer in the making, who puts his blood, sweat and tears into making some of the best sounding records of our decade. We always have a lot of fun in the studio.”