Watch Video for New Single “Blue Rose” from Amen Dunes

 photo amendunes_zpssedhoqce.jpg

The fifth album, Freedom, from Damon McMahon aka Amen Dunes is setting up to be potentially his best work to date. “Blue Rose” is the latest track (following “Miki Dora”) from it and comes with a video directed by Alex Goldberg. The LP is available for pre-order through Sacred Bones.

Listen to Why Bonnie’s Gorgeous New Song “Practice”

 photo whybonnie_zpsbcufzlci.png

Why Bonnie is the Austin, TX quartet started as the bedroom project of Blair Howerton now additionally comprising Mitch Lamon, Sam Houdek, and Kendall Powell. This Friday, February 16th, will see the release of their debut EP, In Water, through the well-curated Sports Day Records. “Practice” is the second reveal from the EP (find “Made of Paper” here) and can only be described as shimmering sadness with its glossy exterior hiding a darker underbelly lyrically creating something beautiful out of the heavier experiences Howerton pulls from for inspiration in crafting the four-song collection available for pre-order via their Bandcamp.

The Shacks Share Visual for “Follow Me”

 photo theshacks_zpsdffzk2hi.png

We couldn’t be more excited to see the profile of The Shacks, the Queens duo of Shannon Wise and Max Shrager, grow exponentially after their appearance in a iPhone commercial last fall with their version of the Dave Berry single “The Strange Effect” written by Ray Davies of The Kinks off their underrated debut EP from 2016. On March 30th, they will release their debut long-play, Haze, via Big Crown Records produced by label co-founder Leon Michels. “Follow Me” is the excellent lead single and we now have a visual accompaniment directed by Catherine Orchard. Pre-order the LP here.

Premiere: Get a Taste of Heaven Honey with New Single “Been Anybody”

 photo heavenhoney_zpsutiycth5.png
Photo by: Jamie Alexander
Artwork by: CJ Lamborn

After the dissolution of the extremely promising Her Again, Bloomington, IN singer-songwriter Jordan Gomes-Kuehner is ready to set out on her own under the moniker Heaven Honey. The talented multi-instrumentalist is very much a chameleon musically presenting a sonic aesthetic falls somewhere in the middle of PJ Harvey or Angel Olsen blended with a little bit of haziness of Ariel Pink.

While not her only output to date, “Been Anybody” represents her first formal single to be released this Friday, February 16th, via new label 1212 Records and serves as the first track from her debut EP due out sometime later this spring. On the song, Gomes-Kuehner’s voice flutters over worn in guitar work manifesting into a brooding soundscape displaying an underlying strength in vulnerability. As her evolution as an artist continues, we only expect her to get better and better. Listen below.

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 2/13/18

 photo C5NMVcJWcAAJSJs_zpszu2w47ar.jpg

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

The Decemberists – Severed
The Weeknd ft. Kendrick Lamar – Pray For Me
Czarface & MF Doom – Nautical Depth
William Onyeabor vs. Hot Chip – Atomic Bomb
POLIÇA & s t a r g a z e – Agree
Blackstar ft. Common – Respiration
Ought – Desire
FIDLAR – Frances Farmer will have her revenge on Seattle (Nirvana cover)
Say Sue Me – Old Town
King Tuff – Psycho Star
2 Chainz ft. YG & Offset – Proud
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Black Tongue (4-track demo)
Aimee Mann – Drive (The Cars cover)
Car Seat Headrest – My Boy (Twin Fantasy)
Franz Ferdinand – Shut Up & Kiss Me (Angel Olsen cover on SIRIUS XMU Sessions)
Van William – Before I Found You
Itasca – Morning Flower
Burnt Ones – Gonna Listen To T.Rex (All Night Long)
Beach Fossils – Agony (Yung Lean cover)
Danny L Harle ft. Clairo – Blue Angel
Hot Chip – Thieves In The Night
Blackstar – Re:definition
Bat Fangs – Rock The Reaper
Frankie Cosmos – Being Alive
Screaming Females – No More I Love You’s (Annie Lennox cover)
Animal Collective – Bleak Midwinter (James Taylor cover)
Frightened Rabbit – No Real Life
EELS – The Deconstruction

Photo Recap: Jens Lekman and Peter Oren at The Bishop

Word by Seth Johnson
Photos by Doug Fellegy

As giant snowflakes fell outside of the Bishop in Bloomington on Feb. 5, a sold-out, Monday night crowd was treated to phenomenal sets by two outstanding songwriters—one more established and the other on the rise.

A Columbus, Indiana native, Peter Oren kicked off the night with his bellowing, Bill Callahan-esque voice. Managed by the fine folks of Winspear, Oren recently released an excellent album on Western Vinyl titled Anthropocene. Much like Jens Lekman, Oren had a way with telling stories in between songs, giving the audience an intimate glimpse into the small-town Indiana contexts that inspire his songs. From the set, “Falling Water” and “Throw Down” were two Anthropocene selections that particularly grabbed my ears.

After hearing so much about Jens Lekman’s brilliant live performances, I was quite excited to experience one for myself for the first time. As expected, the Swedish songwriter did not disappoint, pulling me in immediately with his irresistible storytelling. Although playing solo, Lekman demanded attention from the audience from the first strum on his guitar, weaving humor in and out of his genuinely stunning set.

To kick things off, Lekman opened with a cover of The Lovin’ Spoonful’s classic “Do You Believe in Magic?” This was followed by “Hotwire the Ferris Wheel,” which gave the audience a first taste of Lekman’s charm simply as a human being. This led into several more songs from Lekman’s 2017 album, Life Will See You Now. After starting off the set with just an acoustic guitar, Lekman unveiled his accompanying backing track setup for “To Know Your Mission,” showing that he could be DJ Jens while also being Songwriter Jens and Storyteller Jens.

For the remainder of his set, Lekman touched on tracks from throughout his catalog, including many selections from much-loved 2007 release Night Falls Over Kortedala. Time and time again, he interacted with the audience in an endearing way, making the show feel more like a private party than a concert. Fittingly enough, his birthday was at midnight following his performance, making for an even grander occasion.

After closing out his first set with Kortedala track “The Opposite of Hallelujah,” Lekman returned to the stage for a four-song encore. This started out with “Maples Leaves” and “I Want a Pair of Cowboy Boots,” before leading into the crowd-selected “The Cold Swedish Winter.” Lekman then closed out the night with the classic “A Postcard to Nina,” before retreating back to his merch booth. There, I met him and wished him happy birthday just after midnight. The guy truly is a gem of a person.


Jens Lekman


Peter Oren

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 2/6/18

 photo C5NMVcJWcAAJSJs_zpszu2w47ar.jpg

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

Lucius – Neighbors
Cat Power – Wonderwall (Oasis cover / Peel Session)
Rhye – Feel Your Weight
MorMor – Heaven’s Only Wishful
Jay Som – O.K., Meet Me Underwater
Dryspell – Can’t Wait
Very Yes – Collide
Kevin Krauter – Pretty Boy
Aly & AJ – Promises
Dream Wife – Hey Heartbreaker
Let’s Eat Grandma – Hot Pink
Grace Vonderkuhn – Cellophane
Pinky Pinky – Robber
Ruru – Lil Lonely
Rae Morris – Do It
Rejjie Snow – Rainbows
Slow Pulp – Preoccupied
Pascale Project – Dancing On The Highway
The Skull Eclipse – Pillars
Ultimate Painting – No Gonna Burn Myself Anymore
Luke Reed – I’m Dreaming
Cut Worms – Till Tomorrow Goes Away
Soccer Mommy – Cool
Girlpool – Picturesong
Rose Droll – You Have A Way
Launder – Fade
Benjamin Schoos & Dent May – All Night Every Night
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – American Guilt
SiR – D’Evils