Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 4/15/14

My Old Kentucky Blog

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35!

Tune in to channel 35 on either SIRIUS or XM at Noon ET or 12am ET/9pm PST each and every Tuesday! For mobile and online users, be sure to look for us in the on demand section!

Wild Beasts – A Simple Beautiful Truth
Voxtrot – The Start of Something
Lana Del Rey – West Coast
How To Dress Well – Repeat Pleasure
HAERTS – Call My Name
Say Lou Lou – Everything We Touch (Yannis of Foals remix)
Mr Little Jeans – Good Mistake
Only Real – Cadillac Girl
Mike Adams at His Honest Weight – I’m Worried
Warpaint – Disco//Very
First Aid Kit – My Silver Lining
Walter Martin – We Like The Zoo (Cause We’re Animals Too) ft. Matt Berninger of The National
The Black Keys – Turn Blue
SOAK – The Mother We Share (CHVRCHES cover)
Lykke Li – No Rest For The Wicked
The Furrs – Get On Your Horse
Colleagues – Tears
Cut Copy – In These Arms Of Love
Jagwar Ma – Uncertainty (Cut Copy remix)
Elliphant – Revolusion
Classixx – A Stranger Love
Brett – Chalon
WIFE – Heart Is A Far Light
Fickled Friends – Play
Deers – Bamboo
RAC – Seventeen (ft. Pink Feathers)
Chrome Sparks – Goddess
SZA – Babylon (ft. Kendrick Lamar)

MOKB Premiere : 1,2,3 : “Porch Swing Song”

 photo 123_zps39e1771e.jpg

Coming nearly three years after their much-lauded debut New Heaven, the new album from Pittsburg’s 1,2,3 almost never happened. Singer Nic Snyder had been beaten down by life between being in the band and having a day job, his aunt’s house being hit by a tornado, writer’s block, and being dropped by their label had led to understandable tension with his bandmates. He decided to remove himself from the situation and quit the band. This might of been the best decision he made as it allowed him to create at his own pace. The result is the meaningfully titled Big Weather whose name comes from the literal weather that affected his family and the storm that was band’s existence in the creation of it.

Now knowing the story behind the album, one would expect the music to be darker in mood given the story, but the songs so far have been eclectic and gritty as heard in the previously revealed “Big Weather Part 1″ and “Leave Me In The Sky With The Lawnchair”. There, indeed, is an artistic turn on this record from their debut, but the band has still maintained their pop sensibilities. Those sensibilities might not be any more existent than in the track we are premiering, “Porch Swing Song”. Vocal hooks are prevalent in the cut, but it’s the crunchy and melodic guitars along with the horns that really bring the listener in. It just goes to show that great art cannot always be created on a timetable. Look for Big Weather to see the light of day on May 27th via their homemade label American Hermitage. Listen below.

 photo bigweather_zps2bf58de9.jpg


Song : Deers : “Bamboo”

 photo deers5_zps4d5150a8.jpg

If you like your music with heavy reverb, slightly lo-fi surf melodies and slacker girl group vocals, then look no further than Madrid, Spain’s Deers. The duo of Ana Garcia Perrote and Carlotta Cosials have a two-song single that under the title DEMO at their Bandcamp, although they are too good to be categorized at just demos. The standout is the absolutely perfect “Bamboo”, but “Trippy Gun” is quite the formidable song as well. You can stream both of them below and grab them for the bargain of name your price here.

Song : The Mercy Beat : “Sweet”

 photo MercyBeatFace_zps31bf0112.png

The Mercy Beat are a Los Angeles-based trio who took their name from Mersybeat, which is name given to the first British invasion that occurred in the late ’50s, early ’60s that they have a fondness for. The members, who we only know as Ian, Matty, and Sam, hail from Hong Kong, Hawaii, and New York, respectively. If the lack of information doesn’t give it away, they are new, like just created their band’s facebook last month new. Their introduction to the world comes in the form of the calming “Sweet”. Listen below.

Video : Tweens : “Forever”

 photo tweens2_zps52b21b38.png

Cincinnati’s Tweens released their great self-titled debut last week via Frenchkiss. It is definitely worth picking up. Today, the band revealed the video for one of the standout tracks “Forever”. Directed by Joe Castrucci, it is set at a high school dance that is decorated in all sorts of ’80s shabby chic. You will see smoking in the bathroom, some spiking of the punch, and even some PBR delivered via a kid on skateboard. Watch below.

 photo tweens3_zps65ca8151.jpg

Song : The Black Keys : “Turn Blue”

 photo theblackkeysturnblue_zpsb2c3aa7b.png

We must admit, we were completely underwhelmed by the song “Fever” from The Black Keys new LP Turn Blue (out May 13th via Nonesuch) a few weeks back. While it wasn’t bad, there really was nothing exceptional about it. With that being said, the just revealed title track “Turn Blue” gives us more to work with. You will hear a lot of late ’70s rock influence on the song, which could be a good or bad thing depending on when you grew up. Decide for yourself below.

MOKB Video Premiere : Panda Riot : “Amanda in the Clouds”

 photo pandariot_zps639c9680.png

Panda Riot is the Chicago-based four-piece of Brian Cook (guitar, drum machine), Rebecca Scott (keyboards & voice), Cory Osborne (bass), José Alejandro Rodriguez (drums). In February, they released their debut LP, Northern Automatic Music, via Saint Marie Records. The album has a darker tint than their previous releases using fuzzy layered guitars and hazy vocals to create a sound borders somewhere between shoegaze and dream-pop. They have given us the lo-fi visual to their latest single “Amanda in the Clouds”. The video was shot on a toy camera from the 80’s called PXL2000 by the band. While we are not familiar with the gadget, they tell us that it records images onto audio cassette tapes resulting in what you see below.

 photo pandariot3_zpsb1f116b8.jpg

Song : Charli XCX : “Boom Clap”

 photo charlixcx2_zps501590cd.png

After toeing the line between underground and mainstream success, 2014 has the potential to be the breakout year for British pop singer Charli XCX. Already this year, she was featured on Iggy Azalea’s “Fancy” and now has a song titled “Boom Clap” on the soundtrack for the teen drama The Fault In Our Stars based on John Green’s bestselling novel. The story centers around two teenagers that meet at a cancer support group and fall in love. Also set to appear on the soundtrack are STRFKR, M83, Indians, Birdy, and Lykke Li, among others. Listen below.

 photo faultinourstars-soundtrack_zps28fc0296.jpg