Mixtape : Mayer Hawthorne : Soul With A Hole Vol. 1

 photo mayer-hawthorne-soul-with-a-hole-mix-lead_jpg_630x700_q85_zps1e04f2ea.jpg

It is completely obvious to anyone who has listened to a Mayer Hawthorne record that his sound is highly indebted in soul acts of yesteryear. To shine a little glow on some of those acts, Hawthorne has put together an hourlong mix titled Soul With A Hole Vol. 1 all mixed from the original vinyl. As the title might indicate, these are songs dealing in love and heartbreak. It is a great listen for those looking to educate themselves in the history of soul music. Stream and download it below.

1. Donald Jenkins And The Delighters “Music Revolution”
2. Otis Leavill “I Need You”
3. Erroll Gaye And The Imaginations “You Dont Want My Love”
4. Billy Harner “Fool Me”
5. Continental Four “How Can I Pretend”
6. The Tenth Dymentions “My Love For You Is Growing Wild”
7. JJ And G “Thats What I Get (For Loving You)”
8. Brothers Of Soul “A Lifetime”
9. Wes Wells And The Steelers “It Must Be Love”
10. Frankie Karl And The Dreams “Dont Be Afraid (Do As I Say)”
11. Four Mints “Row-Row-Row My Boat”
12. The Dynamic Tints “Be My Lady”
13. Final Decisions “Keep On Walking”
14. Dee Dee Warwick “Its Not Fair”
15. Carl Carlton “Dont Walk Away”
16. Sly, Slick And Wicked “Sho Nuff”
17. Jimmy (Soul) Clark “If I Only Knew Then (What I Know Now)”
18. The Original Breed “The Prophet”
19. The Prime Ministers “I Dont Know No More”
20. Deon Jackson “All On A Sunny Day”
21. The Marvelettes “As Long As I Know Hes Mine”
22. The Admirations “Don’t Leave Me”
23. The Toys “Whats Wrong With Me Baby”
24. The Ordells “Sippin A Cup Of Coffee”

No comments yet.

New comment