Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 7/2/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Trevor Powers – XTQ Idol
Saintseneca – Frostbiter
Gia Margaret – Birthday
Phantastic Ferniture – Fuckin’ N Rollin’
Family Reunion – League
Anna Of The North – Lovers (Jim-E Stack remix)
Roosevelt – Under The Sun
Fog Lake – Gypsy (Fleetwood Mac cover)
Sunday Moon – Eleven
Rome Fortune – Hoodrich Disco (prod. by Toro Y Moi)
MorMor – Waiting On The Warmth
Aly & AJ – Good Love
Amilli – Rarri
The Holydrug Couple – I’ll Only Say This
Ava Luna – Deli Run
Malena Zavala – A Vision That’s Changed
Miya Folick – Stock Image
Doug Tuttle – Twilight
Spiritualized – I’m Your Man
Sobs – Breakfast
Tomberlin – Seventeen
Sand – Destined Road
Dearly Somber – Hey Old Friend
Princess Chelsea – I Love My Boyfriend
Emma Ruth Rundle – Fever Dreams
Trevor Powers – Dicegame

St. Paul and The Broken Bones // Apollo

 photo SPBBs_zpsntlymr5k.jpg

Here’s a soulful new song, “Apollo“, from St. Paul and The Broken Bones from their forthcoming new album, “Young Sick Camellia“. The band will be heading out on an extensive tour, including headlining the Holler On The Hill festival here in Indianapolis in September.

Tour dates after the break…. (more…)

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 6/26/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Phantastic Ferniture – Fuckin n Rollin
Gorillaz ft. Snoop Dogg & Jamie Principle – Hollywood
Das Body – Boys
Knife Knights ft. Marquette Miller & Stas THEE Boss – Give You Game
Michigan Rattlers – Just Good Night
Spiritualized – A Perfect Miracle
Kevin Krauter – Lonely Boogie
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Hunnybee
Rhye – Phoenix
Sports – Don’t Tell Me
Anna Of The North – Lovers
Men I Trust – Lauren
Teyana Taylor – Gonna Love Me
Steady Holiday – Nobody’s Watching
Michael Nau – Done Wonder
Let’s Eat Grandma – It’s Not Just Me
Yuno – So Slow
Exhibitionist – Blood
Umii – Dangerous (Touch Sensitive Remix)
Lorenzo BITW ft. Chikaya – Chasing
SOPHIE – Immaterial
Boycrush ft. Yumi Zouma – 100
Still Corners – Black Lagoon
Small Black ft. Frankie Rose – Real People
Helen – Chemistry
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Talking Straight
Boyhood – He Don’t
A.A.L. (Against All Logic) – Such A Bad Way

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 6/19/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

Alt-J ft. Pusha T – In Cold Blood (Twin Shadow mix)
Kid Cudi, Yasiin Bey and Kanye West – Kids See Ghosts
Gorillaz – Fire Flies
Thundercat – Final Fight
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Oh! You Pretty Things (David Bowie cover)
Sudan Archives – Nont For Sale
Lemi Vice & Action Jackson ft. Dances With White Girls – Geechi
Bon Iver – Minnesota, WI (blckbrn flip)
DAWN – Waves
Dipset ft. Drama – Stronger
Dirty Projectors – That’s A Lifestyle
YYXY (of LOONA) ft. Grimes – love4eva
Marilyn Manson – Cry Little Sister (Gerard McMahon cover)
Kevin Krauter – Suddenly
Jonathan Bree – You’re So Cool
Washed Out – Face Up
Matty (of BADBADNOTGOOD) – I’ll Gladly Place Myself Below
Jackie Cohen – Darlin
Shy Boys – Take The Doggie
Marissa Nadler – Where Do I Go (Happy Rhodes cover)
Munya – Trop Tard
Tyler, The Creator – Crust In Their Eyes
Sara Boy – 26
Echo Ladies – Waiting For A Sign
Cigarettes After Sex – Crush
Fresh Kill – San Diego
Julianna Daugherty – Player
Sobs – Telltale Signs

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 6/12/18

 photo MOKB_SIRUSXMU_zpsvppbopus.jpg

Tonight at 10pm ET / 7pm PT, My Old Kentucky Blog on SIRIUS XMU’s Blog Radio! Here’s the playlist!

FIDLAR ft. Dr. Dre & AM – Have A Cigar (Pink Floyd cover)
Uffie – Your Hood
Lykke Li ft. Amine – Two Nights
Allie X – Focus
Cigarettes After Sex – Crush
Interpol – The Rover
Wild Nothing – Letting Go
Jon Spencer – Do The Trash Can
Swamp Dogg & Justin Vernon (of Bon Iver) – I’ll Pretend
The Essex Green – Don’t Leave It In Our Hands
Gorillaz – Sorcererz
The Internet – Come Over
DJ Koze ft. Roisin Murphy – Illumination
Lykke Li – So Sad So Sexy
Arp – Nzuku
BC Unidos ft. Amanda Bergman – Late Night On The Rocks
fleaBITE – Nothing
Clairo – How (demo)
Sam Evian – Next To You
Spencer Radcliffe and Everyone Else – Pasture
Holy Now – Feel It All
BC Unidos ft. Meg Remy of U.S. Girls & Ledinsky – Take It Easy
Boyhood – Luvbomb
La Force – Lucky One
Yumi Zouma – France (Grand Boulevards)
LVL UP – Orchard
The Ophelias – General Electric
Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Yugoslavia
Kadhja Bonet – Second Wind

Photo Recap: Fleet Foxes and Amen Dunes at Old National Center

Perennial indie favorites Fleet Foxes performed at Old National Center in late May touring behind their latest release, 2017’s Crack Up. Landscapes of reverb-soaked Americana echoing throughout the theater, Robin Pecknold and company performed songs from their new record in addition to a selection of favorites from their previous albums, notably Helplessness Blues and their timeless (yet somehow decade old?!?) self-titled release. The crowd swooned, stomped, and hummed along throughout the set, including a particularly raucous rendition of “Ragged Wood,” when everyone suddenly erupted from their seats to dance and jump along with the band.

The criminally short set from Amen Dunes, however, was the real treat for the evening. Freedom, the band’s recent release on Sacred Bones, is stacked with slow burners that keep getting better the more they repeat. The strut of “Calling Paul the Suffering” paired with their latest single, “Miki Dora,” constructed room for the band to open up; the set created moments of space and understated improvisation while avoiding anything meandering. Each song, and especially the closer “Believe,” was an exercise in confidence where arrangements subtly built upon each other with the result being a fully realized portrait of a surfer, of a father, of an ending. Amen Dunes lit a fuse with this set that you can hopefully see at full length, but until then get your hands on Freedom and let it wash over you.


Fleet Foxes


Amen Dunes


Photos/Words by Doug Fellegy (via Flickr)

Tove Lo // Bitches

 photo ToveLo_bitches_zpsms477fzq.jpg

Swedish pop star, Tove Lo has been fully expressing herself since 2013…I’m sure before that as well, but we knew early on, she was rarely going to filter herself. Her latest album, Lady Wood, keeps pumping out the hits and the fun.

Just in time for Pride weekend, Tove Lo recruits Charli XCX, Icona Pop, Elliphant, and ALMA for a sassy/cheeky new video for her single “Bitches,” directed by Lucia Aniello. The ladies provide some much needed “couples counseling” for Paul W. Downs and Jessy Hodges (Broad City, Rough Night). As a proud member LGBTQ community Tove Lo will headline at LA PRIDE on June 10 and NY PRIDE on June 23.

S.M. Wolf // Bad Ocean

 photo SMWolf_BadOcean_zpsziepnxck.png

Indianapolis-based psych/power-pop band S.M. Wolf have recently released their sophomore album Bad Ocean through PIAPTK Records. The band, led by elementary school teacher Adam Gross, has been impressing midwest audiences since 2015 and create an updated sound comparable to many mid-to-late-90s alt-rockers, like Weezer, Ozma, and Nada Surf. You can check the album’s lead single, “The Station” below, and stream all of Bad Ocean on Spotify.