Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 9/12/17

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile – Over Everything
Portugal. The Man – Don’t Look Back In Anger (Oasis cover)
ODESZA ft. Leon Bridges – Across The Room
Yumi Zouma – Persephone
SALES – Talk A Lot
Tove Lo – Disco Tits
Men I Trust – Tailwhip
Duncan Kissinger – Better Man (Southern Drawl)
Anna Of The North – Feels
Jimmy Whoo ft. Sabrina Bellaouel & Loubenski – Nite Eye
Alvvays – Saved By A Waif
Leisure – Money
Danny L Harle ft. Kim Chi – Me4U
Suzi Wu – Teenage Witch
St. Vincent – Los Ageless
Syd – On The Road
Toriena – Melancozmo
QUIÑ ft. Syd – Sticky Situation
L I M – Game Over
Shy Shy Shy – Beautiful Boys & Girls
Jo Passed – Singular
Dream Wife – Fire
Mickey Kojack – Ghost
Everything Is Recorded – Mountains Of Gold (ft. Sampha, Ibeyi, Wiki & Kamasi Washington)
Rhye – Summer Days
Bully – Feel The Same
The Beatles – Why Don’t We Do It In The Road
Michael Nau – How You’re So For Real
Niki & The Dove – Play It On My Radio

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 9/05/17

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

Cypress Hill – Hits From The Bong
Bully – Running
Spissy – Cruising Paradise
Alex Lahey – Every Day’s The Weekend
Frank Ocean – Provider
Rhye – Summer Days (Roosevelt remix)
Vince Staples – Rain Come Down
Washed Out – Hard To Say Goodbye (Lone remix)
Dream Beach & Tommy Genesis – Cry For You
DJDS ft. Khalid & Empress Of – Why Don’t You Come On
Cap Ferrat – East Coast Stars
Bedouine – Dusty Eyes
Julia Lucille – Beneath The Spring
Land Of Talk – Heartcore
Alex Cameron – Runnin’ Out Of Luck
Chrystal – Waves
Molly Nilsson – About Somebody
Allah-Las – The Earth Won’t Hold Me (Kathy Heideman cover)
Hoops – Sun’s Out
TOPS – Cutlass Cruiser
Nilein – Dive
Yeule – I Saw You In My Dreams Last Night
Jessica Lea Mayfield – Meadow
The Blaze – Territory
Wy – You + I
John Maus – The Combine
Joey Bada$$ – 500 Benz
Petite League – Shin Bruise

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 8/29/17

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

Jaded Juice Riders – PBR
Anna Of The North – Money
Brockhampton – Sweet
Syd – Bad Dreams / No Looking Back
D33J ft. Baths – Wisp
Banoffee – Ripe
Jadu Heart – I’m A Kid
BAUM – Hot Water
Electric Guest – Oh Devil
Twain – Solar Pilgrim
Lady HD – Relax
Leisure – Alone Together
Sam Evian – Need You
Weaves – Walkaway
Makthaverskan – In My Dreams
Ducktails – Light A Candle
Men I Trust – Tailwhip
Turnover – Curiosity
Man Without Country ft. Sansa – Lion Mind
Fake Laugh – Physical
Gussie – Others
Kalm Dog – Winter Americanos
Kevin Krauter – Opportunity
Boy Scouts – Queen
Ariel Pink – Feels Like Heaven
Faith Healer – Try
Mirror Gazer – On My Way

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 8/22/17

Cut Copy – Standing In The Middle Of The Field
EMA – Blood and Chalk
Magic Island – Summer Luvin’
Rhye – Summer Days
Daughter – Burn It Down
Compton White – Track 2
Anna Of The North – Someone
Kelela – LMK
Beiju – Don’t Know
Lou Phelps ft. Innanet James – What Time Is It
BOSCO – Cruel
Duke Dumont x Gorgon City ft. Naations – Real Life
Yumi Zouma – December
DJDS ft. Amber Mark & Marco McKinnis – Trees On Fire
Yellow Days – Hurt In Love
MOSSS – Here If You Want (Pale Blue)
Sasha Evens – Give Me Reason
Sheer Mag – Milk and Honey
Mons Vi – Divina
Confidence Man – Bubblegum
Marius – Existence Problem
Sobs – Catflap
Stanley – Brewin’ Up
Beach Fossils – Saint Ivy
Bunny – Let Me Be Your Dog
Loners – Moon
K A R Y Y N – Moving Masses
Florist – Glowing Brightly

Premiere: Brandon Whyde // Come To Jesus

Brandon Whyde

I would often walk into a Fountain Square bar and there would sit Brandon Whyde…relaxed, beyond cool, smiling and being smiled back at by the prettiest lady in the room. I couldn’t help but admire his aesthetic. He was (is) cool, but he was also, maybe surprisingly to some, shy and kind, and if you broke through with a little effort, easy to talk to to.

Whyde is a soulful singer-songwriter with a penchant for mourning and reflection. His whiskey-infused voice tells tales that sometimes will make you weep and other times will make you holler in celebration. He’s seen his fair share of success, in his early career. He’s opened for the likes of Dwight Yoakam, Sturgill Simpson, Lady Antebellum, and Nathaniel Rateliff, and he even sang at Emmy Award-winning actress Katherine Heigl’s wedding.

Whyde ultimately decided to leave Indianapolis. He headed to the greener musical pastures of Nashville, Tennessee to create his third album, “Silver Apples of the Moon,” which he’ll release on September 19th. When he wasn’t working on the album, he was co-writing songs with Grammy-winning country songwriter Clint Lagerberg and modern Americana music stars Jamie Kenney, Tony Lucca and Stone Aielli.

Whyde’s new album was recorded with Grammy-winning producer Jimmy Nutt in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and it includes some of the veteran musicians who helped The Shoals earn acclaim as a hotbed of musical talent. Spooner Oldham, who played keyboards on Percy Sledge’s “When a Man Loves a Woman,” and Bob Wray, who’s played bass on more than 30 #1 country hits, are just a few of the artists appearing on “Silver Apples of the Moon.” Today, we premiere the first song and video from the album, “Come To Jesus.”

Itunes | Spotify | Soundcloud | Google Play

Sam Evian Shares “Need You” Off New EP with Chris Cohen

 photo samevian_zpsdgtze3h3.jpg

Sam Evian’s debut solo album, Premium, was grossly underrated despite getting a decent amount of attention last year. While he is continuing to work on the follow-up to that, he has a new three-song EP, Need You, in collaboration with the talented Chris Cohen coming on October 6th via Saddle Creek. It was recorded over a work week at Cohen’s garage studio in LA with the vocals and mixing being done back in New York. The title track trades in Evian’s glam aesthetic for something more earthy dipped in a bit of California sunshine. Stream the song below.

Stream “Plimsoll Punks” from Alvvays

 photo alvvays_zps8gcp7rmx.png

Alvvays sophomore LP, Antisocialites, is coming on September 8th via Polyvinyl. If you still were doubting that this is one of the year’s best albums (spoiler, it is), then maybe the latest reveal “Plimsoll Punks” will finally convince you. Listen below.

Julien Baker Announces New Album, Stream “Appointments”

 photo julienbaker_zpsspulztp0.jpg

Having slowly built her profile after the release of her great debut album Sprained Ankle, Julien Baker has announced the follow-up, Turn Out the Lights, scheduled for released on October 27th via Matador Records. Recorded at Ardent Studios in her hometown of Memphis, the LP “embraces the grays and complex truths of humanity and mental health,” according to the press release. “Appointments” is the first unveiled track from the album and it is an absolute stunner without hyperbole. It is a next level track that is certain to further expand her continually growing audience.