Song : Flying Lotus : “Coronus, The Terminator”

 photo flyinglotus2_zpsa66d0d85.jpg

Following the excellent jazz-infused “Never Catch Me” featuring Kendrick Lamar, Flying Lotus is sharing another track from new forthcoming LP titled “Coronus, The Terminator”. The song is a hazy, psych cut that almost feels more like an interlude than anything. Regardless, his new album, You’re Dead, might end up being his best and most ambitious work yet. Look for it on October 7th via Warp. Listen below.


 photo flyinglotus_zpscbcf23ac.png

Song : Korallreven : “Death Is Not For Us”

 photo korallreven_zps1fe5ea91.png

Stockholm’s Korallreven have returned with new song “Death Is Not For Us”, the first reveal from their new LP, Second Comin’, set for release on November 4th via the impeccable Cascine. The new album was created “around themes of beginning anew and rising again” with the album art courtesy of NUG. As for the song, it centers around “awakening, revitalization, and restoration”. Refresh your day with the stream below.

Song : Weyes Blood : “Some Winters”

 photo weyesblood_zpsef8ba1e6.jpg

Former Jackie-O-Motherfucker member and back up singer for Ariel Pink, Natalie Merins is focusing in our her own project Weyes Blood. On October 21st, she will be releasing The Innocents LP via Mexican Summer. Her sound can only be described as highly-emotional, avant-garde ethereal folk. After streaming “Hang On”, she gleaming “Hang On”, she has changed it up a bit with the dignified piano-driven “Some Winters” that has a very distinct spectral quality throughout. Stream below.


Video : Kevin Morby : “All of My Life”

 photo kevinmorby_zps967ab3e7.png

After revealing the excellent “Parade”, Woods bassist and songwriter/guitarist of The Babies Kevin Morby has shared another tune “All of My Life” via a video. Both songs appear on Still Life, his sophomore LP slated for October 14th via Woodsist. The song is a jangly guitar driven number. The video is a low budget recreation an old country talk show. Watch and listen below.

 photo kevinmorby2_zpsc9f57dcd.jpg

Song : Peaking Lights : “Everyone and Us”

 photo peakinglights5_zps11a8e1ef.jpg

Husband and wife duo Peaking Lights have their new LP, Cosmic Logic, on the way October 7th via Weird World/Domino Records. We already heard “Breakdown” (see video here), now chill out to the restrained jam “Everyone and Us”. We are liking the direction of this new LP. Listen below.

 photo peakinglights3_zps2012c600.jpg

Song : Still Parade : “Beach”

 photo stillparade_zpsf0f670c5.jpg

Still Parade is a new project that we just got hip to. The German dream folk project is the brainchild of one Niklas Kramer. He just released the final piece, “Beach”, to his new four-song Fields EP. The song can only be described as a musical journey that reaches near, far, and wide over its five plus minutes of gentle rolling melodies. It is a lush compliment to the other three tracks that have been released over the past year, including the title track, which might very well be our favorite of the bunch. You can buy the EP on limited edition vinyl courtesy of Day By Day Records/Serve & Volley Records here. Listen below.


Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 9/16/14

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35!

Tune in to channel 35 on SIRIUS XM at Noon ET or 12am ET/9pm PST each and every Tuesday! For mobile and online users, be sure to look for us in the on demand section!

Kurt Vile – Never Run Away
SOAK – B a noBody
Gruff Rhys – Lost Tribes
Au Revoir Simone – Just Like A Tree (Tyde remix)
Haerts – Giving Up
iamamiwhoami – blue blue
Lemonade – Reaches
The Pharcyde – Drop
Flying Lotus ft. Kendrick Lamar – Never Catch Me
Poom – Les Voiles (Dim Sum remix)
Aphex Twin – minipops 67 [120.2] [source field mix]
Dornik – On My Mind
Wand – Broken Candle
Kindness – This Is Not About Us
Febueder – Owing
Wunder Wunder – Midnight Hours
The War On Drugs – Brothers
BAD//DREEMS – My Only Friend
Ex Cops ft. Ariel Pink – Tragically Alright
M83 – Wait (Kygo remix)
Doss – The Way I Feel (Recycle Culture’s Slow Emotion Reel)
Tkay Maidza – Finish Them (Prod. by Bok Bok)
Springtime Carnivore – Sun Went Black
BEIJU – Narcissistic
The Derevolutions – When The Radio’s Gone
Blackbird Blackbird ft. Britt Warner – Young
DEERS – Castigadas en el Granero
Zola Blood – Meridian