Download New Mix Platinum Tears from Babyfather (Dean Blunt)

 photo deanblunt2_zpsignehf8v.png

After teasing with a freestyle last week, Babyfather aka Dean Blunt dropped a new mix called Platinum Tears over the weekend featuring contributions per the description from DJ Escrow, Dean Blunt, T, Mandy, Gasman and tracks titled “Bruiser, Platinum Tears, Breeze, Militant, Positive Flow, Deeper, Millennial Rain, and Freeze. The release date is probably not a coincidence as it coincides with the opening of his new exhibition running from January 28 – February 28 at the Cubitt gallery in London. Listen and download below.

MOKB Fun Fun Fun Fest 2015 Mix | Auditorium Shores, Austin, TX | November 6th – 8th

 photo ffff3_zpsjru6hf2m.gif

We have had the pleasure to attend many festivals over the years, but Fun Fun Fun Fest in Austin, TX is the only one that uniquely stands out on its own. While others try to present “cool”, FFFF always comes off as non-pretentious embracing all of the kids who were always apart of an alternative clique in high school. With that very calculated idea, the fest always ends up featuring a variety of artists who are generally making their only festival appearance of the year along skateboarding, wrestling, comedians, and more. Combine that with its more intimate feel size (each stage sans the main stage feels like a club show) and you incredible experience every year.

This year’s event is an important one with it being the 10th anniversary. The lineup represents this momentous occasion featuring stacked list including the likes of Grimes, Wu-Tang Clan, Neon Indian, Odesza, Rae Sremmard, Lauryn Hill, Alvvays, Fuzz, Viet Cong, Toro y Moi, and it goes on and on. Because there are so many to choose from, we decided to throw a little Spotify mix (found below) of some of the acts we are looking forward to seeing. If you have been waffling on whether or not to go, you can still grab passes here.

Listen to a Mix of Unreleased Material Swallow at the Hollow from Panda Bear

 photo pandabear_zpsjzs7qwni.jpg

It is always a great day when there is new Panda Bear material to hear floating around in the world, even if it is snippets or half-realized ideas, as is the case with this new mix named Swallow at the Hollow. It is a compilation of nearly a half-hour of unused material from around the sessions were occurring for his latest LP, Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper LP. See Noah’s full explanation below along with the mix, which could serve as an excellent backdrop to your Halloween gatherings this weekend.

“Swallow at the Hollow is a mix of things I made around the same time as all the Grim Reaper tracks. They kind of feel like scribbles or doodles and for some reason or another I couldn’t find my way of singing with them. Some of them just stuck out like sore thumbs. I hope you enjoy them and wanted to say thanks very much for listening and thanks to those of you who came out to see the shows the past couple of years. Happy Halloween…” – PEACE noah

MOKB Forecastle Festival 2015 Mix | Louisville, Kentucky | July 17th – 19th

 photo forecastle2_zpscleniadv.png

Forecastle Festival 2015 will be hitting the banks of the Ohio River this weekend in Louisville, KY. The fest has grown from more of a regional event to one of the best in the United States. Every year, it seems the lineup quality from top to bottom gets better and better and this year is no different. From the hometown heroes of My Morning Jacket, Houndmouth, and the up and coming White Reaper to ILoveMakonnen, Alvvays, Lower Dens, The War on Drugs, Broncho, Twin Peaks, First Aid Kit, and so much more. We’re not even including the late night after festival shows that are highlighted by our girl Ellie Herring opening up for arguably the most talked about artist in the world at the moment, Jamie xx.

As you can see, the quality from top to bottom is on point. Add in the manageable size of the festival grounds (what can we say, we are old) and it is really one of the better live experiences out there. So with that being said, we have put together a Spotify mix of some of the artists/bands you should go out of your way to catch this weekend. We will see you there.

Stream : No Vacation : ‘Amo XO’ Mixtape

 photo novacation_zpsopgxv2ll.jpg

Generally, when we think mixtape, we are expecting an electronic producer or hip hop artist. However, more traditional bands can do them as well such as self-described “post tropical sadcore” San Francisco group No Vacation. Over the last couple of months, they have dropped a couple of great soft songs “Lovefool” and “Beach Bummer”. They now are streaming their 8-track Amo XO mixtape integrating both of those songs that clocks in just around 15-minutes. It is a fantastic quick hit of vitamin D-laced vibes an introduction to a band we look forward to hearing more of. Listen below.

Download : ILoveMakonnen : ‘Drink More Water 5’ Mixtape

 photo ilovemakonnen_zpswzxanoxf.png

Atlanta’s Makonnen Sheran aka ILoveMakonnen is one of our favorite artists going at the moment. Today, he has shared the Drink More Water 5 mixtape, the follow-up to last year’s iLoveMakonnen EP and Drink More Water 4 mixtape. It features collabs with Migos, Rome Fortune, Gucci Mane, among others. You can stream it below and download it here.

MOKB Mixtape Premiere : Ellie Herring : Like Your Drawing Mix

 photo unnamed_zps76775b23.jpg

The year is winding down as everyone knows, so we are excited to give one more blast for 2014 from one of the artists who really came into her own this year and who we expect big things from in 2015, Ellie Herring. Ellie, Ms. Herring if you are nasty, has built a mixtape around a piece of artwork titled Mini Couple by Nah Park (pictured above) that she discovered surfing the net for random drawings and illustrations and says “really got to me”.

Ellie says of the mixtape, “There’s no basis for the song selection other than them being new and old songs that I still really love, and if I had the dreamy opportunity to hang out with someone in Mini Couple, I’d probably play these.” For those fortunate enough to be vacationing in some warm, exotic place, this is the soundtrack for your trip and for those at home doing the basic holidays family thing, this is a nice break from all of the chaos. Find the stream and download along with the tracklist below.

Ricky Eat Acid – Let’s Go Outside
Gold Panda – 5th Ave
Young Ejecta – Welcome to Love
Brokenchord – A Girl of 13 Summers
CFCF – You Hear Colours
Junior Boys – Kick the Can
Mount Kimbie – Would Know
Groundislava – Under the Glow (feat. Rare Times & Benedek)
Jessy Lanza – As If
Vector Lovers – Capsule One
James Blake – I’ll Stay
Diversa – Anaïse
Teebs – While You Doooo
Ryan Hemsworth – Snow in Newark (with Dawn Golden)
Wet – No Lie (Noah Breakfast Remix)
Tennyson – You’re Cute
schädel – Something Like a Hajj
Dej Loaf – Me U & Hennesy hanging out with Ellie & schädel one weekend
Doss – Softpretty
Telefon Tel Aviv – I Made a Tree On the Wold