Song : TOPS : “Way to be Loved”

 photo tops_zpsf2e8bce2.jpg

Having released already a fantastic 7″ with songs “Change Of Heart” and “Sleeptalker” this year, Montreal four-piece TOPS reveal the details for the follow-up to their 2012 debut Tender Opposites. The title is Picture You Staring and is slated to hit shelves on September 2nd via Arbutus. It will contain the previously two mentioned songs as well as this new one “Way to be Loved”. The song is part-Belle & Sebastian, part-Fleetwood Mac laced with some delicate funk. Listen below.


Stream : La Hell Gang : ‘Thru Me Again’ LP

 photo lahellgang_zpse8f40727.jpg

Thru Me Again is the sophomore LP from Chilean trio La Hell Gang released this week via Mexican Summer. On the album, they combine psychedelia of the late ’60s along with the grittier leanings of early ’90s grunge creating desolate, heavy-reverbed recondite rock. It screams to be heard on a pair of headphones while spacing out in your den or getting wasted by fire in the nighttime. Regardless of your listening choices, this has been one of the more unexpected releases to be on massive rotation for us. Give it a spin below and purchase it here.

Song : Oyinda : “Rush of You”

 photo oyinda_zps2c529994.jpg

When you book your live debut at a festival like Lollapalooza before you have yet dropped an official single, it is safe to assume that you have some pretty amazing musical talent. Thus is the case with London-raised, New York-based Nigerian singer Oyinda, who just unveiled her debut song “Rush of You”. The song is as polished as you would expect with out sounding manufactured and shows tremendous promise for this new face on the scene. Expect more from her in the coming months as she puts the finishing touches on her debut EP. Listen below.

Song : Shura : “Just Once”

 photo shura_zps062610a5.jpg

The relatable sentimentality of “Touch” from 23-year-old Londoner Aleksandra Denton, aka Shura, will make certain it appears on many best of lists at the end of the year, including ours. “Just Once”, her latest offering, proves that she is no one trick pony. Following a similar tone of “Touch”, this down-to-earth pop star (see Lorde) shows her insecurities with refreshing lyrical honesty. Her pillowy delivery and production just add to the idea that she is the type of girl everyone wants in their circle of friends. “Just Once” just dropped, but we already can’t wait for more from Ms. Denton. Listen below.

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 7/22/14

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35!

Tune in to channel 35 on either SIRIUS or XM at Noon ET or 12am ET/9pm PST each and every Tuesday! For mobile and online users, be sure to look for us in the on demand section!

Hunterchild – Aching
Sylvan Esso – Hey Mama (Landlady remix)
Astronomyy – U Make Me Feel Good
Perfume Genius – Queen
Alpenglow – Brothers In Crime
Bear In Heaven – Autumn
Zero 7 – Simple Science
Twin Peaks – I Found A New Way
Generationals – Gold Silver Diamond
Mt. Si – True
Cut Copy – Lights Shine On
Peaking Lights – More High
Childhood – As I Am
Vaults – Lifespan
Lia Ices – Thousand Eyes
ASTR – Part Of Me
Hopium – Dreamers (ft. Phoebe Lou)
Allie X – Bitch
Paul White – Honey Cats
Wizard Woes – Sheriane
James Vincent McMorrow – Cavalier (Moors remix)
Freddie Gibbs + Young Thug + A$AP Ferg – Old English
Walter Sobchek – Midnight Crush (ft. Mereki)
Milk and Bone – New York
Lemaitre – Wait (ft. LOLO)
Görkem Han Jr. – Ocean
Southern Boutique – Joanna

Song : 2:54 : “Orion”

 photo 254_zpsb9c5f81f.jpg

London’s 2:54, the quartet led by the Thurlow sisters, have announced they have signed with Bella Union and have a new album on the way later this year. The album will be the first we have heard from them in over two years since their excellent eponymous debut 2012. While details surrounding the release are murky, they have revealed a new song “Orion” that will be on it. Listen below.

Dive Index Announce New Album ‘Lost in The Pressure’, Reveal Two New Songs

 photo diveindex_zps5411bbd4.jpg

After approximately four years of silence, the Will Thomas-led collaborative musical project Dive Index are ready to announce their third full-length album. Titled Lost In The Pressure, it is slated for release on September 30th via Neutral Music and was recorded in New York and Los Angles. Unlike like previous efforts Mid/Air and The Surface We Divide which included variety of guest vocalists such as Joseph Arthur, Mark Gardener (Ride),Ian Masters (Pale Saints), and Natalie Walker, as well as piano by Roger Eno, this one will be more focused with Isaiah Gage and Simone White singing and sharing co-writing credits on the entire record.

The songs that make up Lost In The Pressure have fragile layers of vulnerability requiring the listener to be fully engaged to really appreciate the subtle, minimalistic details of each composition. With the album having two lead singers, we have two new songs to reveal with along with the announcement. “Rewind Your Patience” sung by Isaiah Gage and “Counting Umbrellas” with Simone White handling the vocals. Varying textures and melodies that build and fall on both creating the most serene, intimate of soundscapes imaginable. Listen below.