Alvvays Announce New Album, Stream “In Undertow”

 photo alvvays_zpsmd7dnxzz.jpg

Alvvays is due to release its second full-length, Antisocialites, September 8th via Polyvinyl. Expect more lovelorn sun-spotted jangly jams done in only the charming way the Toronto quartet know how. According to lead singer Molly Rankin, “The record is a fantasy breakup arc and my life nearly imitated art.” The first cut from the release is the breakup track “In Undertow” full of introspective witty lyrics floating over top rolling waves of guitar reverb. Pre-order for the release is available here.

The War on Drugs Announce New Album, Stream “Holding On”

 photo warondrugs2_zpssgv0nbbj.png

As expected, after unveiling the track “Thinking of a Place” at the end of April, The War on Drugs have formally announced their fourth studio album A Deeper Understanding. If you were like us and concerned their signing with major label Atlantic Records might take them down a less than desirable path, rest easy. Between the previously mentioned “Thinking of a Place” and now “Holding On,” the Adam Granduciel-fronted project is not deviating from the sound that led them to creating one of the best albums of this past decade in their last LP, Lost in a Dream, although a bit more polish might be present this time around. Pre-order is available on all formats, including a nice deluxe vinyl edition, here ahead of the album’s August 25th street date.

Anna of the North Announces Debut LP Lovers, Streams Title Track

 photo annaofthenorth_zpsygyhuwvw.jpg

Nearly three years after making their song debut with the contagious “Sway,” Oslo duo Anna Lotterud and Brady Daniell-Smith, aka Anna of the North, have announced their debut LP, named Lovers, for release on September 8th via Different Recordings. The album promises to continue the crisp, shimmery production showcased in their catalog to date. It was recorded in Oslo and mixed in Copenhagen and London by Luke Smith (Foals, Depeche Mode). Also, with the release details, comes the album’s title track “speaking of the emptiness of the unrealistic promises we make to each other at the start of relationships.” The song is pristine in its presentation hooks you in once the chorus kicks in and the nostalgic synths underline the lyrics. If it doesn’t grab you immediately, it will after a few more spins. Pre-order for the LP is available here.

Soccer Mommy Signs with Fat Possum, Streams “Out Worn”

 photo soccermommy2_zps8ikal3lb.jpg

Oxford, Mississippi’s Fat Possum have been gobbling up some of our favorite artists over the last couple of years. Their latest signee is Nashville native, NYU student Sophie Allison aka Soccer Mommy. We became a fan of hers with her constant stream of great songs via her Soundcloud and For Young Hearts album released last year via Orchid Tapes. To reintroduce the project to the world, Fat Possum will be releasing a mini-album collection of reworked versions of some of her old material, as well as a few new songs written and produced by Allison herself. “Out Worn” is one of those new songs and can be heard below. Pre-order of the album on limited edition White Purple Blue Sky vinyl can be found via her Bandcamp.

Dent May Announces New Album Across The Multiverse

 photo dentmay2_zpsokchki4v.png

It has been approximately 9 months since Dent May graced us with his simply great song “Face Down In The Gutter Of Your Love” and now we finally have the announcement of the album the song is attached to. August 18th will see the release of May’s fourth album, titled Across The Multiverse, via Carpark Records. The LP is his first since 2013’s Warm Blanket. This collection of tracks promises to stay true to the eclectic stylings that brought him to prominence amongst his early fans, while bringing another layer of refinement to play. The album was recoreded in LA’s Highland Park neighborhood, with May acting as producer, while nearly playing every instrument himself. The title track featuring Frankie Cosmos can be found below. Pre-order the LP on limited butter yellow colored vinyl here.

Sheer Mag Announce Long-Awaited Debut LP, Stream “Just Can’t Get Enough”

 photo sheermag_zpsijuakrbw.jpg

The output from Philadelphia’s Sheer Mag have consistently been burning up our turntables for just short of 3 years now and, today, they have shared the official details of their proper long-play, named Need to Feel Your Love, slated for release on July 14th via Wilsuns RC. According to the press release, the album general mood is heavily in response to the current state of unavoidable lack of political and social justice currently permeating throughout American society. However, the first single “Just Can’t Get Enough” is, from the mouth of the band, a “rock ballad about ACTUALLY being in love” and the “feeling for that person is something as natural and powerful as a gravitational pull.” As with all of their tracks, Christina Halladay’s Ramones-styled guttural delivery marry perfectly with the classic Thin Lizzy-indebted guitar rifts. We just can’t get enough…Pre-order is available now for physical and digital copies.

Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly, and James McAlister Unveil “Saturn” from Collaborative Album

 photo planetarium_zpshpmttj69.jpg

Planetarium is an album from Sufjan Stevens, composer Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner of the National, and drummer James McAlister inspired by the Sun, the Moon, the planets and other celestial bodies of our solar system. Slated to drop on June 9th via 4AD, the album was the product of approximately five years that turned into a long, twisted journey that can be read about in greater detail here. You can listen to the spacey “Saturn” via video below.

Gorillaz Unveil Four Songs from New LP Humanz

 photo gorillaz2.png_zpswbsovm3k.png

Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett’s Gorillaz project have dropped four new tracks from their fourth or fifth studio album (depending if you count the iPad created The Fall as more than a novelty) and first in over a half-decade. Humanz is slated to drop on April 28th and can be pre-ordered here on various formats and packages. The four tracks unveiled so far are “Saturnz Barnz” featuring Popcaan, “Andromeda” featuring D.R.A.M., “We Got the Power” featuring Savages’ Jehnny Beth, and “Ascension” featuring Vince Staples. All of the tracks are dope as fuck and come with animated visual companions.

01. Ascension (feat. Vince Staples)
02. Strobelite (feat. Peven Everett)
03. Saturnz Barz (feat. Popcaan)
04. Momentz (feat. De La Soul)
05. Submission (feat. Danny Brown & Kelela)
06. Charger (feat. Grace Jones)
07. Andromeda (feat. D.R.A.M.)
08. Busted and Blue
09. Carnival (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
10. Let Me Out (feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T)
11. Sex Murder Party (feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz)
12. She’s My Collar (feat. Kali Uchis)
13. Hallelujah Money (feat. Benjamin Clementine)
14. We Got The Power (feat. Jehnny Beth)

Deluxe edition bonus tracks:
15. The Apprentice (feat. Rag’n’bone Man, Zebra Katz & Ray BLK)
16. Halfway To The Halfway House (feat. Peven Everett)
17. Out Of Body (feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Voshana
18. Ticker Tape (feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis)
19. Circle Of Friendz (feat. Brandon Markell Holmes)