Newly Minted Turkish Label Drug Boulevard Announces Compilation, Stream ACES Lead Single From It

 photo drugblvd_zps00wm9bvb.png

Drug Boulevard is the newly minted Istanbul-based dream pop label from the founders of the celebrated Turkish progressive/trance label, Blue Soho. As an introduction, the label is releasing a compilation, named DRUB BLVD after the label, on February 17th nearly two years in the making due to logistics and geopolitical occurrences during that time in Turkey. Mastered by renowned engineer Barry Grint of Alchemy UK, the collection features new and exclusive songs from artists spanning the globe, including ACES, Astronautica, FMLYBND, DAUNT, Leo Kalyan, SRNO (feat. MOONZz), Mammals) and GOSTO. The artists were selected, according to founder Kubilay, for “doing something brilliant and inspiring,” while “doing everything they do for all the right reasons.”

The first reveal comes from rising Brooklyn singer ACES, who has slowly been gaining traction over the last year with her downtempo slant of pop music in singles “I’m Already Gone” and “If I Could Be Your Girl”.” “Just Cut It Out” is effervescent track blending hazing vocals with romantic synths and delicately crafted production stirring emotions, while soothing at same time.

Lydia Ainsworth Announces New Album, Shares First Single “The Road” Via Video

 photo lydiaainsworth2_zpsffqjpsrg.jpg

Toronto’s Lydia Ainsworth has revealed the details for the follow-up to her fantastic 2014 debut Right From Real. The sophomore LP, titled Darling of the Afterglow, is set for release March 31st via Arbutus Records and Bella Union. If the absolutely stunning first track revealed “The Road” is any indication, expect a sophisticated slant of pop music mixing electronic and classical instrumentation in a lusher, more mature form than her previous efforts. The song is just beautiful conveying a delicate strength in a dream-like haze and the video, directed by her sister Abby Ainsworth, only accentuates these elements. Pre-order the album on limited edition white vinyl and other formats here.

1. The Road
2. What Is It?
3. Ricochet
4. Afterglow
5. Open Doors
6. Spinning
7. Into The Blue
8. Wicked Game
9. I Can Feel It All
10. WLCM
11. Nighttime Watching

Premiere: Stream LUV IN THE RUINS: Part 2 from CARE

 photo CARE_zpsysafkre7.png

CARE, the musical outlet for Queens-via-Grand Rapids Justin Majetich, releases Part 2 (listen to Part 1) of one of the more ambitious albums tomorrow with his LUV IN THE RUINS album via the excellently curated Bloomington, IN label Winspear. It will also come with a limited edition companion art book featuring annotated album texts with photography courtesy of Chris Cox and Ross Beren’s design work to further flush out the LP available for purchase here. The 70-minute opus covers the comedown of a relationship once filled with euphoria to the time of limbo that occurs inevitably after the breakup to picking up the pieces and moving forward.

It is a highly emotional progression of songs that pulls out feelings reminiscent of the first time we heard The Antlers’ desperate breakthrough album Hospice or Death Cab for Cutie’s plea of a dying love Transatlanticism not necessarily sonically, but due to the vivid storytelling and the cathartic release the songs act as. Nothing comes easy on the release, but you are rewarded in new ways with each listen due to the lush construction of each track showing an expert ability when to show restraint and when to blow it up for maximum effect. This is a album meant to be heard on headphones in isolation to fully absorb it. Listen to the second part of LUV IN THE RUINS below.

Wild Pink Announce Debut Album, Stream “Wizard of Loneliness”

 photo wildpink_zps0wpv3tat.png

New York City trio Wild Pink have announced their self-titled debut LP slated to hit on February 10th through Tiny Engines. The release follows an excellent four track EP appropriately titled 4 Songs, which served as an introduction to their earthy, autumnal rock tones that that really feel like they could have came out of the early to mid aughts. “Wizard of Loneliness” is the first taste of the album and can be heard below. The LP can be pre-ordered here.

Listen to “Rennen” by SOHN

 photo SOHN-Rennen_art_zpsejm6h40a.jpg

London-born musician SOHN relocated to northern California to create his latest album, Rennen, and today we share the title track. The cut is a restrained, warm down-tempo, piano-driven pop effort with gorgeous vocals.

Rennen will be released January 13th, 2017 through 4AD Records.

Fog Lake Announces New Album, Streams “Side Effects”

 photo foglake_zpswftbocgg.jpg

Fog Lake, the musical outlet of St. John’s, Newfoundland’s Aaron Powell, has become one of our essential listens over the last few years. This coming February, he will be releasing his latest collection of songs titled Dragonchaser and the follow-up to 2015’s subtle gem Victoria Park. Included on the album is the previously heard and excellent “Rattlesnake” along with his contribution with Home Alone to Orchid Tapes compilation Radiating Frinds, “Push,” and this newly revealed track “Side Effect.” Just like his previously material, the isolating warmth is present in a lo-fi sheen and is perfect for forced days inside and moments of solitude. We can only hope this gets the proper treatment with a release on vinyl along with his previous releases while they are at it.

Silver Swans Stream “Jealousy” from New EP

 photo silverswans_zpsorhqjkz8.jpg

It has been since 2013 that we last heard new material from dreamy San Francisco duo Silver Swans. Today, they are dropping their new EP, Illusions, through Italian label Coypu Records. The initial single from the six-song release is “Jealousy” offering subdued dance beats floating under Ann Yu’s straight-faced vocals. It is a cloudy pop gem easily digested. Purchase the release here.