Premiere: Stream Children of Pop’s Building New Song “Poids”

 photo childrenofpop2_zpsizjreuzh.jpg

It’s been a minute since we last heard from Houston’s Children of Pop, the project founded by one Chase DeMaster, who also heads the eclectic label Very Jazzed. After taking some time off to collect his thoughts, he will be unloading a new 7″ on June 16th. “Poids,” found below, is the a-side (backed by “Étude en Cours”) of the release and can only be described as a slow-burner that slowly transitions into an audible strobe light of frenetic energy. DeMaster offered the following context of the song:

I took a few months off from writing and really tried to boil off some of the ideas I was working out of from last year’s full length. Lyrically, it oscillates between two polar perspectives. The things we ask from the ones we love, after time, tend to reflect the notion that our appetite for feeling, be it good, bad, or anything, is never quenched. We are hungry for stimulation in any form to acknowledge our existence. Further, “Poids” recognizes that being in that space is a privilege to begin with and forgetting that for a second is nauseating. We started playing this song live on the TV Girl and Chad Valley tours and I was completely taken by it. It lives on the recording in a much more tranquil place, while live it becomes something so emotive it’s almost paralyzing to perform in front on an audience. A track with weight.

Pre-order for the 7″ both digitally and on an extremely limited edition lathe cut is available the project’s Bandcamp.

Tour Dates:
6/14 – Austin, TX @ Cheer Up Charlies
6/15 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
6/16 – Dallas, TX @ Transit Bike Co
6/17 – Springfield, MO @ The Outland Ballroom (Live + DJ set)
6/18 – Chicago, IL @ The Dog Leach
6/19 – Indiana, Location TBD
6/20 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Pallazanos
6/21 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Pharmacy
6/22 – NYC @ The Glove
6/23 – NYC @ The Keep (DJ set)
7/01 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall

Video : We Are Hex : “Tongues”

 photo wearehex_zps4bf2771e.png

Indianapolis dark-hearted rockers and arguably the best show in town, We Are Hex (recently described as “…the bastard children of the The Birthday Party on meth…”) just announced a new 7″ release on Latest Flame Records for Spring 2014. They’ve released a video for the b-side, “Tongues”. The new 7″ is also streaming below from their Bandcamp.

Digital Single : Tempers : Eyes Wide Wider

Pendu Sound has really been churning out the some quality music as of late, most notably MOKB favorites Starred and Chelsea Wolfe. Their latest endeavor to showcase their artists is a digital single series for one of their artists each month with an accompanying video.

The first release in this series is from New York-based post-punk duo Tempers, comprised of Jasmine Golestaneh and Eddie Cooper. According to their bio, their music “inhabits a realm of opaque romance.” The single, “Eyes Wide Wider,” is a combination of dirty, almost shoegazey guitars with mystifying vocals. You can stream both songs on the single and find the visual companion below. Download the a-side here.

Digital Single : Tape Deck Mountain : V Day Digital 7″ 2013

It seems to be that every year more and more artists are getting in the giving mood for Valentine’s Day. Lefse artist Tape Deck Mountain is the latest to join in on this growing tradition by putting up a digital 7″ named V Day Digital 7″ 2013 via Bandcamp for name your price. The 7″ has a cover of Father John Misty’s lonesome ballad “Every Man Needs a Companion” and new song “Bat Lies”. It is a nice little one two punch. Find them below.

Single : Pageants : “Musings of the Tide” b/w “August Moon” 7″

Pageants is the new musical trio of former Avi Buffalo member and founder Rebecca Coleman with Devin O’Brien and Dylan Wood. The project began in modest after Coleman left the band in the summer of 2010, initially starting of as a duo only to expand to the current three-person lineup. The band has been hard at work in their Long Beach home finishing up their debut album to see the light of day later this year.

To get the year started, the band will be releasing Musings of the Tide b/w August Moon on white 7″ vinyl via their own Eye-Dul imprint. They have made available both sides of said 7″ to stream. Both are exceptional songs highlighted by the alluring vocals of Coleman. You can purchase the 7″ here.

Songs : Fuzz (Ty Segall & Charles Moothart) : “This Time I Got A Reason” & “Fuzz’s Fourth Dream”

The ever prolific Ty Segall has a new musical project with Charles Moothart going by the name of Fuzz. It appears the band is trying to be mysterious, but it appears they just trying to mess with people’s heads. Their 7″ for “This Time I Got A Reason” b/w “Fuzz’s Fourth Dream” via Trouble in Mind is already sold out, but you can still check out both songs below. They definitely have a bluesy, dirty Black Sabbath vibe about them. Give them a spin below.

[Win This!] : Paradise : “I Love Thousands Every Summer” b/w “Psychic Returns” 7″

Paradise is the musical project of Los Angeles resident Nedelle Torrisi. You might recognize her as one half of the Asthmatic Kitty-signed Cryptacize and her singing with Sufjan Stevens. Her solo recordings to date invoke dreamy, romantic melodies that have the calming effect of a cool breeze on a hot day. Her introduction to the world was via “I Love Thousands Every Summer” b/w “Psychic Returns” 7″ out now through Thin Wrist Recordings. The songs are also to be help comprise Paradises’ forthcoming debut album which was recorded and produced by Kenneth Gilmore (Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti).

We happen to get our grubby little hands on a copy of this limited edition pressing and are giving away to one of our lovely readers. All you have to do is leave in the comments your favorite song of 2012 and follow MOKB on Facebook and Twitter. We will choose one winner at random on Wednesday, December 5th.