Video : Foxygen : “How Can You Really”

 photo foxygen2_zps89e58593.jpg

Given all of the chaos that was occurring internally in Foxygen, we were going to be pretty surprised if they got around to making a follow-up to their excellent debut, We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors Of Peace & Magic. But here we are and the band has announced their new LP, Foxygen…and Star Power, out on October 14th via Jagjaguwar. To go along with the announcement, they have given us the first song “How Can You Really” along with the official video. The song is sort of blue-eyed soul meets psych-rock and completely enjoyable. Watch and listen below.

 photo foxygen_zps9c9314eb.png

Song : Kamp! : “Early Days”

 photo kamp_zps60e9dc7b.jpg

After being on the fantastic Portugal label Discotexas, Polish electronic pop trio Kamp! have migrated over to the equally fantastic Cascine. They will be releasing a new 3-track EP, Baltimore, on August 26th. The first song from it is the ’90s club-heavy “Early Days” creating images of dark space fluttering with flashing strobes and one night stands on the dancefloor. Stream it below.

Song : jj : “Dean & Me”

 photo jj-dean-and-me_zps6b560210.jpg

Swedes jj are reverting back to the form of their initial releases thus far with the previously heard “All White Everything” and this new one “Dean & Me”. Both will appear their new LP, V, out on August 19th via Secretly Canadian/Sincerely Yours. It is as buoyant and delicate as anything they have done. Listen below.

Stream : Ellie Herring : SSENSE Mix

 photo ellieherring_zps37d32d7d.jpg

Slowly, but surely Lexington, Kentucky native Ellie Herring has been building momentum and making a name for herself with original work and remixes. Today, she released a mix for fashion-forward designer clothing online boutique SSENSE. You can find the stream along with the tracklist below.

Chrome Sparks – Losing U
Stwo – Cryin
Dpat – Unbound
Jessy Lanza – You and Me
Echavox – Habitat
Ellie Herring – The Never Ache
Tinashe – Vulnerable (Dave Luxe Remix)
noï x Krampf – Future Brain
D33J – Slow (feat. Kreyola)
Chet Faker – Talk is Cheap (Ta-ku Remix)
Baths – Miasma Sky (Moors Remix)
Pascal – Drowning In You
Tory Lanez – Unity (Promnite Bootleg)
WYLN – Changes
Huglife – F For U (Disclosure x Ryan Hemsworth x Huglife Edit)
Candy – Chloe Martini
Ellie Herring – Cool It
Carling Ruse – Need U
Ruddyp – Sleep On The Floor, Dream About Me

Song : Paperwhite : “Take Me Back”

 photo paperwhite_zps67254956.jpg

We premiered a remix of Brooklyn brother/sister duo Paperwhite’s “Magic” a couple of weeks back and they return with a new sparkling ’80s synth-pop cut “Take Me Back”. Whether in an old John Hughes movie or a modern day teen flick, it would be fit perfectly in the the pivotal turning point or closing scenes. The song captures the romanticism of being young and the heavy emotions that come with it. Spin it below and, for those that lived through the ’80s, get taken back.

Song : FKA Twigs : “Pendulum”

 photo 77756b16_zps9104bd5b.jpg

FKA Twigs is one of the best things going in music at the moment. Her debut long-play LP1 hits shelves in just a couple of weeks on August 12th via Young Turks. We have had the pleasure of listening to it in full and it lives up to the hype. She has officially dropped another song from it for mass consumption titled “Pendulum”. About it, she claims it as “one of my favourite songs on my record” and we have to agree with that assessment. Listen below and check out the previously released “Two Weeks” here.

 photo fkatwigs4_zps28bea05d.jpg

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 7/29/14

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35!

Tune in to channel 35 on either SIRIUS or XM at Noon ET or 12am ET/9pm PST each and every Tuesday! For mobile and online users, be sure to look for us in the on demand section!

Dralms – Divisions of Labour
Electric Youth – Runaway
BANKS – Beggin For Thread
BEAMS – Feeling That The Feeling’s Right
Sophie – Lemonade
Schoolboy Q – Hell Of A Night (YOGI remix)
Jungle – Time (Lxury remix)
Benjamin Booker – Have You Seen My Son
Low – I’m On Fire (Bruce Springsteen cover)
Parquet Courts – Bodies Made Of
Castanets – My Girl Comes To The City
Bishop Allen – Start Again
La Hell Gang – So High
Fryars – Prettiest Ones Fly Highest
Cate Le Bon – Duke
Junius Meyvant – Color Decay
Strand of Oaks – Shut In
2:54 – Orion
The Apache Relay – Katie, Queen Of Tennessee
Lia Ices – Higher
Gap Dream – Strong Love
Little Daylight – Mona Lisa (St. Lucia remix)
Shura – Just Once
Oyinda – Rush Of You
TOPS – Way To Be Loved
The Golden Filter – Heady Filthy
Movement – Ivory
Trance Farmers – Lone Star