Song : FKA Twigs : “Pendulum”

 photo 77756b16_zps9104bd5b.jpg

FKA Twigs is one of the best things going in music at the moment. Her debut long-play LP1 hits shelves in just a couple of weeks on August 12th via Young Turks. We have had the pleasure of listening to it in full and it lives up to the hype. She has officially dropped another song from it for mass consumption titled “Pendulum”. About it, she claims it as “one of my favourite songs on my record” and we have to agree with that assessment. Listen below and check out the previously released “Two Weeks” here.

 photo fkatwigs4_zps28bea05d.jpg

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 7/29/14

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35!

Tune in to channel 35 on either SIRIUS or XM at Noon ET or 12am ET/9pm PST each and every Tuesday! For mobile and online users, be sure to look for us in the on demand section!

Dralms – Divisions of Labour
Electric Youth – Runaway
BANKS – Beggin For Thread
BEAMS – Feeling That The Feeling’s Right
Sophie – Lemonade
Schoolboy Q – Hell Of A Night (YOGI remix)
Jungle – Time (Lxury remix)
Benjamin Booker – Have You Seen My Son
Low – I’m On Fire (Bruce Springsteen cover)
Parquet Courts – Bodies Made Of
Castanets – My Girl Comes To The City
Bishop Allen – Start Again
La Hell Gang – So High
Fryars – Prettiest Ones Fly Highest
Cate Le Bon – Duke
Junius Meyvant – Color Decay
Strand of Oaks – Shut In
2:54 – Orion
The Apache Relay – Katie, Queen Of Tennessee
Lia Ices – Higher
Gap Dream – Strong Love
Little Daylight – Mona Lisa (St. Lucia remix)
Shura – Just Once
Oyinda – Rush Of You
TOPS – Way To Be Loved
The Golden Filter – Heady Filthy
Movement – Ivory
Trance Farmers – Lone Star

[NSFW] Video : Movement : “Ivory”

 photo movement_zpsddd8288b.png

Movement released one of the best collection of songs this year with their self-titled EP. The recently revealed the beautifully shot NSFW video for “Ivory” from it. Directed by Fleur & Manu, the visual “paints a stark, delicate picture of love and lust, nudity, intimacy and sexuality, of two bodies merging into one like colors running together in a tableau,” says the press release. Watch below.

Movement US Tour Dates (w/ Twin Shadow):
Sept 17 || Pearl Street Nightclub || Northampton, MA
Sept 18 || Paradise || Boston, MA
Sept 20 || Phoenix Concert Theater || Toronto, ON
Sept 21 || Magic Stick || Detroit, MI
Sept 23 || Metro || Chicago, IL
Sept 24 || First Avenue || Minneapolis, MN
Sept 26 || Waiting Room || Omaha, NE
Sept 27 || Bluebird Theater || Denver, CO
Sept 30 || Doug Fir Lounge || Portland, OR
Oct 3 || Regency Ballroom || San Francisco, CA
Oct 4 || The Cellar Door || Visalia, CA
Oct 7 || SoHo Music Club || Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 8 || Fonda Theater || Los Angeles, CA
Oct 9 || Belly Up Tavern || Solana Beach, CA
Oct 10 || The Glass House || Pomona, CA
Oct 14 || The Crescent Ballroom || Phoenix, AZ
Oct 15 || Tricky Falls || El Paso, TX
Oct 16 || The Mohawk || Austin, TX
Oct 17 || Republic New Orleans || New Orleans, LA
Oct 18 || Bottletree || Birmingham, AL
Oct 19 || Terminal West || Atlanta, GA
Oct 21 || High Dive || Gainesville, FL
Oct 22 || The Social || Orlando, FL
Oct 25 || Black Cat || Washington, DC
Oct 26 || Union Transfer || Philadelphia, PA
Oct 28 || Terminal 5 || New York, NY

Song : Nicholas Nicholas : “Cave”

 photo nicholasnicholas2_zpse453446e.jpg

Nicholas Nicholas, the musical outlet of Brooklyn-based Chris Masullo has a new LP, Wrong, coming out on August 19th via Miscreant Records. He already revealed the remarkably moving “Meet Me In the Park” and now he has given us another one named “Cave”. The song is a slowly unwinding puzzle of beautiful caliginous tones and patinated new wave sheen. Listen below.


Video : Kid Wave : “All I Want”

 photo kidwave2_zps1a85152d.png

London’s Heavenly Recordings have been on a nice little streak as of late with their roster that includes the likes of Temples, The Wytches, TOY, and more. Their latest addition is a London-based quartet that goes by Kid Wave. Featuring members Harry Deacon, Lea Emmery, Serra Petale, and Mattias Bhatt, their debut single “All I Want” captures the unkempt energy of being young in the ’90s without being derivative. Watch the video for it below.

 photo kidwave3_zpse0337cf0.jpg

Song : Gap Dream : “Strong Love”

 photo gapdream_zps665577e3.jpg

Fullerton, California’s Gabe Fulvimar aka Gap Dream created some pretty great music on last year’s Shine Your Light. To stay in rhythm, he will be releasing a new split tour single 7″ with Part Time via Burger Records. His contribution is the smoky song “Strong Love” perfect to backdrop a night of skinny dipping in the lake as you lament the fading summer with your friends. Listen wand watch the video below.

Song : Sophie : “Lemonade”

 photo sophie_zpsdddcfd46.jpg

UK producer Sophie came out of nowhere setting the internet ablaze last year with “Bipp” and “Elle”, so it only makes sense that he does the same this summer. Today, he dropped crazy sample-heavy new song “Lemonade”. It has a child-like quality in its appeal (and in its samples), but there is so much more to this sugary, experimental track with every listen. The sounds heard are absolutely insane with dropping bass and revving synths creating sort of a musical maze. It will be out on August 4th via Numbers as a single paired with yet-to-be-heard “Hard”. Listen below.