Video : Wunder Wunder : “Hail The Madman”

 photo wunderwunder2_zps09be3637.png

L.A. via Melbourne producers Aaron Shanahan and Benjamin Plant, aka Wunder Wunder, released their debut, Everything Infinite, a couple of weeks back. The album has given us two fantastic singles already in “Coastline” and, one of our favorites this year, “Midnight Hours”. It is a quintessential summer album to have this year.

If you need more enticing, however, you can check out their new video for “Hail The Madman”. The song has an Ariel Pink retro quirkiness to it with the video depicting a sort of Cloverfield angle where you see the destruction, but not the thing responsible for it. Watch below.

 photo wunderwunder_zpsf1ffc82d.png

Song : Lil Silva : “Don’t You Love” (ft. BANKS)

 photo lilsilva_zpsbd311560.png

Lil Silva has his new EP, Mabel, out on August 5th on True Panther/Good Years. We have already heard the fantastic title track from it, now we get his collaboration with one of the undeniable new stars of 2014, BANKS. “Don’t You Love” builds off a funky, almost bluesy guitar rift slowly morphing into a grimy funk meets R&B slow jam. It is smooth as hell and an excellent listen. Stream it below.


Song : Mother : “Centerfold”

 photo mother_zps7b4c76a9.jpg

We think the Penn Badgely-led band Mother might have some legs to it. After two well-received singles “Victim” and “Easy”, they have offered up another song, “Centerfold” to sinke your teeth into. This one is brooding like the others, but has sort of a post-punk, dark-wave feel to it. Badgely’s vocals vibrate in a deep baritone to further sell the overall mood of the song. Listen below.

Stream : King avriel : ‘Thesis’ LP

 photo avriel2_zps414e5289.jpg

Former model, dancer, and actor Avriel Epps, better known as King avriel, appears to have found her calling and focus with debut album Thesis. The LP showcases her willowy delivery, thought-provoking lyrics, and production that accentuates both using electronic and traditional R&B elements. To sum it all up, the girl is the entire package being just one radio-friendly song away from major mainstream attention. Stream the entire album below and find the accompanying booklet to “deepin the thesis experience”.

Song : Dead Times : “Every Moment”

 photo deadtimes_zpse3257530.jpg

LA duo Dead Times have a new song to latch on to called “Every Moment”. The song is a slithering late night slow jam showcasing some Prince-esque falsetto floating over snapping percussion. It is sensual and seductive begging to be played next time you are trying to set the mood for that special person in your life. Find it below along with previously released great cover of Donnie & Joe Emerson’s “Baby” made famous by Ariel Pink.


Video : Son Lux : “Lanterns Lit”

 photo sonlux2_zps9a5142e2.png

Son Lux has an absolutely beautiful new video for his song “Lanterns Lit”. The song comes from one of the best albums of last year, Lanterns, released via one of our hometown labels Joyful Noise. The clip was directed and produced by SJ Finlay, with visual effects by Nisha Kumkeaw and coloring by David Tomiak. According to Finlay, it “was made while shooting promotional materials for Hope for the Nations as well as a short film to help children at risk in South East Asia.” Watch below.

 photo sonlux3_zps039962cd.jpg

Video : Alvvays : “Archie, Marry Me”

 photo alvvays2_zps360da686.png

Toronto quintet Alvvays might just have the biggest breakout debut album of 2014. Their self-titled LP shows that precise, straightforward indie-pop can be fresh and still work in 2014. Today, they revealed a super-8 video for “Archie, Marry Me”, one of the more sweet songs from the LP. The clip is just pure summer fun in the sun. Watch below.

 photo allvvays3_zps75e29e25.jpg