Song : Korallreven : “Spirit Away” (ft. China)

 photo korallreven_zpsc75bb1fc.png

Sweden’s Korallreven have their new LP, Second Comin’, set to drop on November 4th via Cascine. They shared “Death Is Not For Us” as an introduction, now we get another track “Spirit Away” featuring up and coming Stockholm singer China Yggström, who we covered last year regarding her song “Hide”. The song is a succulent meditative dance track made for a night of reckless abandon. It comes with the announcement of Slime by Korallreven, their “all-healer” for people, plants, and animals (find full details here).

 photo korallreven_zps1fe5ea91.png

Song : Poom : “Sous l’Orage”

 photo Poom_zps008e80b7.png

French duo Poom have dropped three new songs in the past week. While all great, the latest of the bunch “Sous l’Orage” (“The Storm” in English) is probably our favorite. The song is dreamy evaporating pop telling the story of two people brought closer together after a traumatic life event. No word whether is will be a part of a proper release, but you can stream below.


Song : Beacon : “Fault Lines”

 photo beacon2_zps9f8f1f65.png

Brooklyn duo Beacon announce a new EP, L1, for release on December 2nd via Ghostly. The EP is built around themes of Lagrangian points, a natural phenomenon in gravitational physics with the name referring “to the point in space where a satellite can fall in synchronous orbit with the earth around the sun, caught between the two gravitational pulls and never falling out of sync.” The first single from it is the very clean “Fault Lines”. It falls somewhere between Postal Service and Thom Yorke’s solo work. Listen below.

Stream : Night Park : Locura Bravura EP

 photo nightpark_zpsc8765ebf.jpg

This popped in our inbox last night and we have been listening to it over and over again. Locura Bravura is the new EP from Memphis producer Night Park out as of yesterday via Rare Nudes. He describes it as a “J Dilla/Boards of Canada lovechild; a hip-hop soundtrack to Breaking Bad; riding a bald eagle through rings of fire hovering above the Grand Canyon.” While that description might be a little over the top, it is a quick blast of nice production that clocking in around 12 minutes. Stream it below.

MOKB Premiere : Wild Leaves : “Open Sky”

 photo wildleaves_zps78830577.png

Lately, we have found ourselves listening to more rock and folk. This change could probably mostly be attributed to it now being fall, which tends to lead to more time inside. One of the bands we have been attracted to is Brooklyn folk-rock band Wild Leaves. Their Earthy sound matches up well with the underlying tones of the changing leaves. Their new EP, Hello Sunlight, is out today and along with it they have shared a new video for “Open Sky”. Shot by Phillip Van, the band describes it as a “nostalgic look back at summer; a celebration of friendship, and the passage of time.” Find it below.

 photo wildleaves2_zps39416e02.jpg

Song : Sylas : “Shore”

 photo sylas_zps8ead245a.png

Sylas is a mysterious London (we think) duo that recently caught our attention with the song “Hollow”. Not much has been put out there yet in regards to their backgrounds, but we do know they have a three-song EP, Shore, due out in November via Aesop Label and the backing of one Brian Eno. Their yet-to-be-released third track, “Layer”, actually features Eno. Today, the have unveiled the title track to the EP. It offers a completely new facet to the project not shown in “Hollow”, methodically building the instrumentation over each other creating more of a traditional song structure deceptively lush in composition. Stream below.


Song : High Highs : “Ocean to City”

 photo highighs_zps287b0866.png

The duo of Jack Milas and Oli Chang, aka High Highs, have a new EP out next week on October 7th. They just shared a new song from it “Ocean to City”. The song is full of soft, pillowy vibes to check out to. Find the stream below along with some upcoming live stops.

Tour Dates:
10/4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
10/21 – New York, NY @ Pianos (CMJ)
10/24 – Brooklyn, NY @ Sofar Sounds CMJ Showcase
11/4 – Washington DC @ DC9*
11/8 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott*
11/9 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot and Saddle*

* w/ Avi Buffalo