Wild Nothing Announces New Album, Shares “To Know You” and “TV Queen”

 photo wildnothing2_zpsoudp5iec.jpg

“I desperately wanted for this to be the kind of record that would displace me. I’m terrified by the idea of being any one thing, or being of any one genre. And whether or not I accomplish that, I know that my only hope of getting there is to constantly reinvent. That reinvention doesn’t need to be drastic, but every new record has to have it’s own identity, and it has to have a separate set of goals from what came before.” – Jack Tatum

Life of Pause, the third LP from Jake Tatum aka Wild Nothing is set for release on February 19th via Captured Tracks. The album was recorded over several weeks in Stockholm and Los Angeles with producer Thom Monahan. With the announcement, he has given us something to be thankful for going into Thanksgiving revealing two tracks titled “To Know You” and “TV Queen”.

DIIV Share New Song “Mire (Grant’s Song)”

 photo diiv_zpscvhwttzj.jpg

While their debut was full of restraint, each additional track we hear from DIIV’s new LP sound more grandiose than the previous showing signs that they are really going for it on their new LP Is The Is Are out February 5th via Captured Tracks. “Mire (Grant’s Song)” is the latest reveal and it swirls full of fiery, shoegazy guitars the come over like a wave crashing down on top of you. The song follows the previously heard “Dopamine” and “Bent (Roi’s Song)”.

Listen to New Song “Don’t Want To Let You Know” from Ducktails

 photo ducktails2_zpsbdpxov48.png

Matt Mondanile’s Ducktails outlet is currently in the midst of a tour in support of St. Catherine LP from earlier this year, but this apparently has not stopped him from recording new music. After a show this past weekend in St. Gallen, Switzerland, Mondanile unveiled a new video for previously unheard track “Don’t Want to Let You Know”. Apparently, he already almost has the next Ducktails album complete, so expect more new music in 2016.

Listen to New Song “So Long” from Leon Bridges

 photo leonbridges_zpsrmwwoych.jpg

After teasing the track on his instagram a few weeks back, Leon Bridges has revealed his contribution to the soundtrack for new Will Smith flick Concussion that delves into the NFL and their questionable tactics to try to ignore head injuries for its players. Just as you would expect, the song is soulful and beautiful. It caps what has been a remarkable year for Fort Worth’s finest.

Emily Yacina Announces New EP, Streams “Loser”

 photo emilyyacina_zpsdwr8jogy.png

Pull Through, the EP released earlier this year from Emily Yacina and clocking in at a svelte approximate 8-minutes, has been a favorite quick bedtime meditation for us since its release. There is a dainty charm that washes over us with every spin that warrants repeat listens. Today, the Philadelphia native has announced the follow-up to with 6-song collection and 8th release overall (find them all here), Soft Stuff, to be self-released on December 11th. According to the press release, the new EP “was written over the span of 2015 and is inspired by different relationships and the spaces that are created within them.” To begin the march towards the release, she has shared lead-track “Loser” permeating with delicate instrumentation and vocals that sooth as much as they haunt.

Porches Announces Debut Album, Shares Video for “Hour”

 photo porches2_zpsyscufoei.png

Porches, the outlet of Aaron Maine, has announced his long-awaited debut titled Pool and set for release on February 5th via Domino Records. Sharp in production, it was almost written completely in his Manhattan apartment he shares with another favorite of ours, Greta Kline aka Frankie Cosmos. To go along with the announcement, Maine has also shared a video for previously released track “Hour” directed by Alan Del Rio Ortiz and starring both him and Kline and described as a “hallucinogenic montage dealing with a love affair that no longer exists but would never vanish.” Find the clip below along with tour dates starting in March with label-mates Alex G and Your Friend.

 photo porches3_zpsqqe2azvk.jpg

Tour Dates:
Mar 9 || Washington, DC || Rock & Roll Hotel
Mar 10 || Richmond, VA || Strange Matter
Mar 11 || Chapel Hill, NC || Cat’s Cradle Backroom
Mar 12 || Savannah, GA || Savannah Stopover Festival
Mar 13 || Orlando, FL || Backbooth
Mar 14 || Tallahassee, FL || Club Downunder
Mar 16 || Houston, TX || Walters
Mar 19 || Dallas, TX || Spillover Music Fest
Mar 21 || Denver, CO || Lost Lake
Mar 22 || Salt Lake City, UT || Kilby Court
Mar 23 || Boise, ID || Treefort Music Fest
Mar 24 || Portland, OR || Analog Café
Mar 25 || Seattle, WA || Vera Project
Mar 26 || Vancouver, BC || The Cobalt
Mar 28 || San Francisco, CA || Rickshaw Stop
Mar 29 || Los Angeles, CA || The Echo
Mar 31 || Santa Ana, CA || The Observatory – Constellation Room
Apr 1 || San Diego, CA || Che Café
Apr 2 || Phoenix, AZ || Rebel Lounge
Apr 3 || Albuquerque, NM || The Co-Op
Apr 5 || Omaha, NE || Slowdown
Apr 6 || Minneapolis, MN || 7th St Entry
Apr 7 || Madison, WI || UW Student Union
Apr 8 || Grinnell, IA || Grinnell College – Gardner Lounge
Apr 9 || Chicago, IL || Bottom Lounge
Apr 10 || Detroit, MI || Majestic Café
Apr 11 || Toronto, ON || Horseshoe Tavern
Apr 12 || Boston, MA || Middle East Downstairs
Apr 13 || Brooklyn, NY || Music Hall of Williamsburg
Apr 14 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer
Apr 15 || New York, NY || Bowery Ballroom

Premiere: Stream the Making a Fool of Myself Mini-Album from Rubber Band Gun

 photo rubberband2_zpsb6s7k0hz.png

“A crude awakening. A hard hitting, six A.M, smack down with that dang alarm clock, kind of morning. Eggs, bacon, the whole tomato for your inner ear. Follow our favorite weatherman, Horace A. Hobart, through his final day at “Channel 17 Local News” where if we listen closely, we can hear the soft, gentle snap of mental stability. Can a vandalized picture cause a train wreck? Can a man earn respect through malice? All this, and more, brought to you by the force of local access television, through the lens of Rubber Band Gun.”

The above quote lays out the concept around the new mini-album (or EP, if you like), Making a Fool of Myself, from Queens, NY musician/songwriter Kevin Basko, who records under the name Rubber Band Gun. Fresh off of playing guitar for Foxygen during their possible final tour for the last year and a half, the release continues the conceptualized, abstract manner Basko approaches creating and follows last year’s brilliantly underrated 21-song sci-fi opera Horror Sounds in Stereo. Below you can hear the collection weaving retro-fitted sonics into a compelling story that feels much longer than five-songs upon listening. It will be available this Friday via Winspear Records on a limited-edition tape release and digitally here.