Song : Twin Limb : “Long Shadow”

 photo twinlimb2_zpsc58d8cfa.jpg

If the week has been sort of an up and down one for you like it has for us, then you really need to ease into the weekend with the song “Long Shadow” from Louisville’s Twin Limb. We had the pleasure to catch them opening for How To Dress Well this past summer and they were nothing more than enchanting to hear showcasing a lot of promise. Their latest offering really wraps around like a warm blanket almost lulling the us into state of acceptance and calm. It is sure to resonate with fans of Beach House. Listen below and also watch the video for it with videography by Amber Thieneman. If you like what you hear, you can catch them on tour over the next couple of months with fellow Kentuckiana band Houndmouth.

Tour Dates:
02/19 – Champaign, IL @ Highdive
02/20 – Madison, WI @ High Noon
02/21 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
02/23 – Iowa City, IA @ Blue Moose
02/24 – Omaha, NE @ Waiting Room
02/26 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theater
02/27 – Aspen, CO @ Belly Up
02/28 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird
03/02 – Lawrence, KS @ Bottleneck
03/03 – Columbia, MO @ Mojo’s
03/05 – Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird
03/06 – Knoxville, TN @ Bijou
03/07 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
03/08 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Video : Sarah P : “Moving On”

 photo sarahp2_zpsce04cc5a.png

As many of you probably know, Sarah P left Keep Shelley in Athens to pursue other musical avenues last year. Since then, she has been dropping loose tracks into the world to reintroduce her to the world as a solo artist. “Moving On” serves as the first proper single, however. The song is “representing the new me”, according to Sarah, and “is an attitude towards life, it is a statement.” She worked with greek producer Nteibint on it and the finished products have a Chromatics vibe about it. You can watch the video below and read her full statement about the song here. Expect an EP from her in the coming months.

Video : Samaris : “Tibrá”

 photo samaris_zpsdf03cc21.png

Silkidrangar, the LP from Icelandic three-piece Samaris, was an album that we really did not get a chance to dig into until late last year several months after its release. The atmospheric electronica of the and just seemed to resonate more during the colder months rather than the peak of summer. Regardless, they recently released a video for one of the highlights from it, “Tibrá”. The visual captures the mystical qualities of the song using muted, yet vibrant colors over shadowy figures and movements. You can view it below and purchase the album here courtesy of One Little Indian Records.

 photo samaris2_zps51479252.jpg

Song : pecas : “All I’ve Got”

 photo pecas_zps0b022d2c.jpg

Spanish-born, Hudson Valley resident Sandy Davis, aka pecas, really captured our attention with the oh-so-fragile “Keeper” from her self-recorded debut LP, Dwelling, available for purchase here. Her latest single from the album, “All I’ve Got”, has a delicate, almost innocent quality about it with the twinkling instrumentation and her soothing vocals. We imagine this song playing during a gorgeous snowfall and all of the excitement we would feel as a child. It is simply magical, understated number. You can stream the track below and catch Davis live at the BSP Lounge in Kingston, NY tomorrow.

Video : Viet Cong : “Silhouettes”

 photo vietcong2_zpse18524a1.png

We realize we aren’t even a month into the year, but it will take some amazing albums for the rest of the year to keep Viet Cong’s self-titled LP of many of the best of lists for 2015. They have given a thunderous jolt into music that has been severely lacking recently. Today, they are presenting the world with a new video for the album’s second single “Silhouettes”. The visual directed by Brook Linder uses sci-fi and horror movie influences. Watch it below and listen to the entire LP here.

In another note, to those that can make it to Indianapolis, our friends at Joyful Noise will be hosting Viet Cong in their incredibly small venue on March 15th. You can find the details here. We recommend you pick up some tickets immediately before it sells out.

 photo vietcong3_zps1c15627f.png

Song : Gal Pals : “Punisher”

 photo galpals_zpse01c4fc1.png

After what could probably be considered a down year in guitar-driven rock music in 2014, this year is looking starting to look up. Contributing to this is Los Angeles-via-Austin duo Gal Pals. On February 24th, they will be unloading their debut LP, Vevet Rut, via Papercup Music. Their latest reveal from it “Punisher” along with the previously shared “Ex-Marionette” have us severely jonesing for warmer weather to fully appreciate the Donnas meet Vivian Girls garage vibes. You can find both of them below.


Video : Allie X : “CATCH”

 photo alliex2_zpsc304876b.png

Pop star in the making, Toronto-born, LA-based Allie X, will begin her official push with the release of her debut album CollXtion on April 7th via her own Label X. The release is promised to be a full on multimedia experience with “videos, digital installations, and other media that begin to fashion the world of a protagonist known as “X”.” Accompanying the album announcement, she is sharing a new video comprised of GIFs for the previously heard and pristine pop song “CATCH”. It was directed by Jérémie Saindon. Watch below.

 photo alliex_zpsc209fde6.jpg