Download : New Compilation ’shh#000000′ from Ryan Hemsworth’s Secret Songs Label

 photo secretsongs_zps2f8e21fb.png

After their first compilation from last year (it made our favorite albums list), Ryan Hemsworth’s Secret Songs label is offering up a 2nd edition of the compilation titled shh#000000 named after the hex color code for black. This iteration gives away new tracks from Fifty Grand, Beat Culture, Kid Sampl, Dro Carey, and a bunch more. It is as brilliant as the first one and it being free makes it a no brainer. You can stream it below or download it here.

 photo secretsongs3_zpsd4775fc7.png

 photo secretsongs2_zpsc1c2dc20.png

Video : Houndmouth : “Sedona”

 photo houndmouth3_zps96a8218a.png

After sharing the song “For No One” this past November, New Albany, IN quartet Houndmouth have officially announced their sophomore LP, Little Neon Limelight, on March 17th via Rough Trade. To go along with the announcement, the have revealed new song “Sedona” along with a lovely new video directed by Naomi Yang of Galaxie 500 near Joshua Tree. It is pretty much perfect and has us getting anxious for warm summer’s nights out by the fire with our friends. Watch below.

 photo houndmouth_zps60b61320.jpg

Song : Faith Healer : “Again”

 photo faithhealer2_zpsa511e8be.jpg

Longtime Edmonton collaborators Jessica Jalbert and Renny Wilson have a new project by the name of Faith Healer. On March 31st, their debut LP, Cosmic Troubles, will see the light of day via Mint Records. Jalbert and Wilson play all the instruments themselves with the recording taking place in Wilson’s parent’s basement after Wilson was inspired by psychedelic rock from the ‘60s and ‘70s. The results is some magical, sparkling rock pop that sounds of another time, yet fresh and new. The lead single from it is “Again”. You can stream it below.

Song : José González : “Leaf Off/The Cave”

 photo jose_zpscf2faeaa.png

Vestiges & Claws, the new LP from troubadour José González, is out February 17 via Mute. He knocked it out of the park with the first single from it “Every Age”, now we get another excellent track “Leaf Off/The Cave”. You can find it below along with a recent performance of the track with a 27-person choir on Swedish award show, P3 Guld.

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 1/20/15

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available via On Demand.

Faith Healer – Again
Toro Y Moi – Empty Nesters
Chromatics – The Bell
Purity Ring – Begin Again
Babe Slayer – Seana
Hanni El Khatib x Freddie Gibbs – Satin Black
iLoveMakonnen – Super Clean
Jagaara – Heartbeats (Edwin Foals remix)
Disciples – They Don’t Know
Shura – Indecision
Vallis Alps – Reprieve
Silk Cinema – Hope
Mew – Satellites
Cooked Books – Excommunicator
Travis Bretzer – Lady Red
Gal Pals – Punisher
El Perro Del Mar – Change Of Heart
The Districts – Peaches
Chris McClenney – More Love
MEISHA SMILE – Blank Ocean
Petite Noir – Shadows
Mirror Kisses – Keep A Secret
Laura Groves – Dream Story
Nic Hessler – Heart’s Repeating
Kurt Vile – He’s Alright
Dan Deacon – Feel The Lightning
Huyghend – Runners
Charli XCX – Doing It (ft. Rita Ora)

Song : Toro Y Moi : “Empty Nesters”

 photo toro_zps6ae70c17.jpg

The Chaz Bundick-driven project Toro Y Moi has announced his new album What For? to be released on April 7th via Carpark Records. To go along with the album announcement, Bundick has shared the new song “Empty Nesters” and it is completely different than anything you have heard under the Toro Y Moi moniker to date. The song blends sort of a sunshine pop with some funk sprinkled in to amazing results. Give it a spin below.

MOKB Premiere : Cooked Books : “Excommunicator”

 photo cookedbooks2_zps1a2ae52c.jpg

We have said it before, but our friends at Jurassic Pop in Indianapolis are dropping some pretty great music. We highly recommend going through their roster of artists. Their latest band, Bloomington’s Cooked Books, were formed from a Craiglist ad titled “garage/psych/loud” and really bring volatile, brash punk rock into their sound. On February 10th, they will be unleashing their second full-length, Endtimes Forever. The first single from it is track “Excommunicator”. It is a blistering tune packing tremendous punch in under three minutes. You can almost hear a little Jay Reatard in the fuck you vocals and it has us salivating for more. Stream below.

Song : Mew : “Satellites”

 photo mew_zps18593331.jpg

Wow, does time fly? Mew have returned to the fold with a just announced new LP +- slated to be out on April 27th via Play It Again Sam. It is the first new album from the Danish quartet in over a half decade. It was produced by the band along with Michael Beinhorn. The first song from it is “Satellites”. Listen below.