MOKB Premiere : Wild Leaves : “Open Sky”

 photo wildleaves_zps78830577.png

Lately, we have found ourselves listening to more rock and folk. This change could probably mostly be attributed to it now being fall, which tends to lead to more time inside. One of the bands we have been attracted to is Brooklyn folk-rock band Wild Leaves. Their Earthy sound matches up well with the underlying tones of the changing leaves. Their new EP, Hello Sunlight, is out today and along with it they have shared a new video for “Open Sky”. Shot by Phillip Van, the band describes it as a “nostalgic look back at summer; a celebration of friendship, and the passage of time.” Find it below.

 photo wildleaves2_zps39416e02.jpg

Song : Sylas : “Shore”

 photo sylas_zps8ead245a.png

Sylas is a mysterious London (we think) duo that recently caught our attention with the song “Hollow”. Not much has been put out there yet in regards to their backgrounds, but we do know they have a three-song EP, Shore, due out in November via Aesop Label and the backing of one Brian Eno. Their yet-to-be-released third track, “Layer”, actually features Eno. Today, the have unveiled the title track to the EP. It offers a completely new facet to the project not shown in “Hollow”, methodically building the instrumentation over each other creating more of a traditional song structure deceptively lush in composition. Stream below.


Song : High Highs : “Ocean to City”

 photo highighs_zps287b0866.png

The duo of Jack Milas and Oli Chang, aka High Highs, have a new EP out next week on October 7th. They just shared a new song from it “Ocean to City”. The song is full of soft, pillowy vibes to check out to. Find the stream below along with some upcoming live stops.

Tour Dates:
10/4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
10/21 – New York, NY @ Pianos (CMJ)
10/24 – Brooklyn, NY @ Sofar Sounds CMJ Showcase
11/4 – Washington DC @ DC9*
11/8 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott*
11/9 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot and Saddle*

* w/ Avi Buffalo

MOKB Premiere : Sol Cat : “Body Like That”

 photo solcat_zps47266562.png

We last heard from Nashville’s Sol Cat back in June with their song “Bread on the Table”. At the time, it was advertised as the first of a two singles that were to be unveiled by the band this past summer. As you all know, plans sometimes don’t work out, but don’t fret. Today, we have the premiere of the promised second single “Body Like That” along with a fantastic new video, just a couple of weeks too late.

The song pays homage to the fairer sex and how they sometimes can manipulate using their sexuality. The video follows this same idea using Barbie dolls to act out the story of a blonde femme fatale. You can find the song and video below along with their upcoming tour dates that hit up all points of the States.

Tour Dates:
10/1 – Martin’s – Jackons, MS+
10/2 – Siberia – New Orleans, LA+
10/3 – The Loft – Columbus, GA+
10/5 – Local 506 – Chapel Hill, NC+
10/7 – Strange Matter – Richmond, VA
10/9 – CBGB Music Festival @ Pianos – NYC
11/4 – Warehouse Live – Houston, TX*
11/5 – Billy’s Ice – New Braunfels, TX*
11/6 – Grand Stafford Theater – Bryan, TX*
11/8 – The Foundry Bar – Dallas, TX*
11/11 – The Lowbrow Palace – El Paso, TX*
11/13 – Pub Rock Live – Scottsdale, AZ*
11/14 – Downtown Container Park – Las Vegas, NV*
11/15 – Soda Bar – San Diego, CA*
11/19 – The Roxy Theatre – West Hollywood, CA*
11/20 – Fox Theater Pomona – Pomona, CA*
11/21 – Bottom of the Hill – San Francisco, CA*

+ = w/ The Jag * = w/ The Weeks

MOKB Premiere : Liza Flume : “Sleepless Nights”

 photo lizaflume_zps9bc8e0c5.jpg

Genres and traditions of music are being blurred now more than ever. Sylvan Esso, for instance, takes folk-styled vocals and accentuates them with ambient electronic elements, whereas in the past would have had a sparse, acoustic accompaniment. Australian born, Dublin based Liza Flume is another artist who creates music in a similar fashion. After receiving some much deserved attention for her 2013 debut EP, Full Steam Ahead, she has been hard at work in the studio with producer Brian Dillon looking to further perfect her craft. The first fruit of this labor is the intimate “Sleepless Nights”.

The song tells the common story of lying awake in bed being unsettled by where your life currently stands. Flume continues on only to put a period on the song summing up all her anxieties with the line “I don’t want to die alone”. Her vocals float ever so softly over masterful production that highlights the solemn tone the song, rather than overtaking it. It marks a captivating introduction into the new chapter of Flume’s musical journey. Listen below.

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 9/30/14

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35!

Tune in to channel 35 on SIRIUS XM at Noon ET or 12am ET/9pm PST each and every Tuesday! For mobile and online users, be sure to look for us in the on demand section!

Beat Connection – Another Go Round
Puro Instinct – 6 of Swords
La Plage – Rendez Vous
Fiancé – Climb The Stairs
Ryan Hemsworth – Snow In Newark (ft. Dawn Golden)
Jai Paul – Jasmine (Demo)
Star Club West – My Ill Women
Dornik – Second Thoughts
TĀLĀ – Alchemy
Ours. – Games
Superfood – Mood Bomb
NoMBe – Waves
Ellie Herring – Mickie
Splashh – Colour It In
Seyr. – Nights
Blue Hawaii – Strawberries and White Light
White Fence – Nero (Has A Lot To Think About)
Kero Kero Bonito – Flamingo
Thom Yorke – A Brain In A Bottle
Låpsley – Falling Short
Stwo – Morphans
White Sea – Prague (Papercutz Remix)
Princess – Molly
Milosh of Rhye – Right Never Comes
Crater – Ain’t Right
Mister Lies – High (ft. Harrison Lipton)
Jones. – Deep
Wet – Don’t Wanna Be Your Girl (Purple remix)

Video : Superfood : “Mood Bomb”

 photo superfood2_zps15455f2b.png

If you long for the days of mid to late ’90s Britpop, quartet Superfood are a must listen. Having already created buzz via various EPs and singles, the band is gearing up for the release of their debut album, Don’t Say That, on November 4th through Infectious Music. The video for the song matches the vibrancy of the fantastic single with splashes of color and nonsensical psych imagery directed by Charlotte Rutherford. Watch below and be on the lookout for them at various UK stops in the coming months with, hopefully, some Stateside dates on the horizon.

 photo superfood_zps35880678.jpg