Premiere: Brandon Whyde // Come To Jesus

 photo BW_SAOTM_COVER-FINAL_08012017__zpsvfuem6dc.jpg

I would often walk into a Fountain Square bar and there would sit Brandon Whyde…relaxed, beyond cool, smiling and being smiled back at by the prettiest lady in the room. I couldn’t help but admire his aesthetic. He was (is) cool, but he was also, maybe surprisingly to some, shy and kind, and if you broke through with a little effort, easy to talk to to.

Whyde is a soulful singer-songwriter with a penchant for mourning and reflection. His whiskey-infused voice tells tales that sometimes will make you weep and other times will make you holler in celebration. He’s seen his fair share of success, in his early career. He’s opened for the likes of Dwight Yoakam, Sturgill Simpson, Lady Antebellum, and Nathaniel Rateliff, and he even sang at Emmy Award-winning actress Katherine Heigl’s wedding.

Whyde ultimately decided to leave Indianapolis. He headed to the greener musical pastures of Nashville, Tennessee to create his third album, “Silver Apples of the Moon,” which he’ll release on September 19th. When he wasn’t working on the album, he was co-writing songs with Grammy-winning country songwriter Clint Lagerberg and modern Americana music stars Jamie Kenney, Tony Lucca and Stone Aielli.

Whyde’s new album was recorded with Grammy-winning producer Jimmy Nutt in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and it includes some of the veteran musicians who helped The Shoals earn acclaim as a hotbed of musical talent. Spooner Oldham, who played keyboards on Percy Sledge’s “When a Man Loves a Woman,” and Bob Wray, who’s played bass on more than 30 #1 country hits, are just a few of the artists appearing on “Silver Apples of the Moon.” Today, we premiere the first song and video from the album, “Come To Jesus.”

Itunes | Spotify | Soundcloud | Google Play

Sam Evian Shares “Need You” Off New EP with Chris Cohen

 photo samevian_zpsdgtze3h3.jpg

Sam Evian’s debut solo album, Premium, was grossly underrated despite getting a decent amount of attention last year. While he is continuing to work on the follow-up to that, he has a new three-song EP, Need You, in collaboration with the talented Chris Cohen coming on October 6th via Saddle Creek. It was recorded over a work week at Cohen’s garage studio in LA with the vocals and mixing being done back in New York. The title track trades in Evian’s glam aesthetic for something more earthy dipped in a bit of California sunshine. Stream the song below.

Stream “Plimsoll Punks” from Alvvays

 photo alvvays_zps8gcp7rmx.png

Alvvays sophomore LP, Antisocialites, is coming on September 8th via Polyvinyl. If you still were doubting that this is one of the year’s best albums (spoiler, it is), then maybe the latest reveal “Plimsoll Punks” will finally convince you. Listen below.

Julien Baker Announces New Album, Stream “Appointments”

 photo julienbaker_zpsspulztp0.jpg

Having slowly built her profile after the release of her great debut album Sprained Ankle, Julien Baker has announced the follow-up, Turn Out the Lights, scheduled for released on October 27th via Matador Records. Recorded at Ardent Studios in her hometown of Memphis, the LP “embraces the grays and complex truths of humanity and mental health,” according to the press release. “Appointments” is the first unveiled track from the album and it is an absolute stunner without hyperbole. It is a next level track that is certain to further expand her continually growing audience.

Premiere: Stockholm’s Grapell Announce Debut LP, Stream “We Can Only Blame Ourselves”

 photo grapell_zpsygafwsfi.jpg

Over four years since their music appeared online and two EPs later, Swedish duo Emil Erstrand and Nils Nygårdh aka Grapell are readying the release of their debut long-play titled Crier on November 3rd via Roll Call Records (album artwork below). As one could possibly take from the album’s name, it draws from themes of love and heartbreak with compositions so thought out unmet deadlines and delays became a standard part of the recording process done their rehersal space and Erstrand’s house. “We Can Only Blame Ourselves” is the first single and characterized by Erstrand a “reminder to all the lovers out there” full of delicate, unabashed soul carried by rhythmic piano and covered in a coppery sheen that hits just before sundown. Simple sophistication comes to mind when describing their music and this track is no different. It sounds like song that could have been created at any point over the last 40 years making it timeless, yet refreshingly organic and nuanced in a time laptop producers get most of the attention. Listen to the song below.

 photo CRIER-HIGHRES-ALBUMARTWORK_zps9ovqdbhi.png

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 8/15/17

 photo C5NMVcJWcAAJSJs_zpsmsoyglof.jpg

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

Leroi Conroy – Tiger Trot
Durand Jones & The Indications – Is It Any Wonder
Skull Snaps – It’s A New Day
Lafayette Afro Rock Band – Hihache
Beyonce – Hold Up
Janko Nilovic – Drug Song
Smallteeth – Personal Skinhead (Kanye West – Black Skinhead + Depeche Mode – Personal Jesus mashup)
Lafayette Afro Rock Band – Darkest Light
Smoove – I’m A Man
Glen Campbell – Southern Nights
MF DOOM – Beef Rapp
Kendrick Lamar – Rigamortis
Eric B. & Rakim – Eric B. Is President (Original 12″ version)
Madvillain – All Caps
Blackstar (Talib Kweli & Mos Def) – Re:Definition
Wu-Tang Clan – Gravel Pit
HEALTH – Blue Monday (New Order cover)
Ghetto Brothers – Ghetto Brothers Power
Run The Jewels – A Report To The Shareholders/Kill Your Masters
Lera Lynn – The Only Thing Worth Fighting For
The War On Drugs – Pain
Bully – Feel The Same
Lee Fields – Precious Love
Martha and the Vandellas – Nowhere To Run
Daft Punk & Pharrell – Lose Yourself To Dance
M83 – Teen Angst

Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 8/8/17

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

The War On Drugs – Pain
Bully – Feel The Same
L.A. Witch – Baby in Blue Jeans
Trailer Trash Tracys – Siebenkas
White Poppy – Hypnotized
Ducktails – Map To The Stars
Faith Healer – Sterling Silver
D33J – Black Ice
Kelela – LMK
Brockhampton – Gummy
King Henry ft. Rhye – Moment
Clairo – Pretty Girl
Samantha Urbani – Hints & Implications
Estere – Pro Bono Techno Zone
Sleep ∞ Over – Don’t Wanna Hide
Lehans – Amparo
Jay Z – The Story of O.J.
Sunny & Gabe – Vacay
Vince Staples ft. Kendrick Lamar – Yeah Right
Slow Pulp – Preoccupied
Her’s – What Once Was
Yellow Days – That Easy
Misty Coast – Trash Talk Smile
High Bloom – Laundry
Alex Cameron ft. Angel Olsen – Stranger’s Kiss
Claudia Ferme – I Think I’ll Pass Today
Black Sea – Apprehension Review
Hazel English – That Thing