Today’s MOKB on SIRIUS XMU Blog Radio Playlist : 1/17/17

Here’s the playlist from today’s My Old Kentucky Blog Radio on SIRIUS XMU, Channel 35! Also, available anytime via OnDemand online and via the app.

Sinkane – Telephone
Chelou – Halfway to Nowhere
Diet Cig – Tummy Ache
Noble Oak – Another Way
Buscabulla ft. Helado Negro – Fria
BOYO – Good As Gone
Aaliyah – One In A Million
Spissy – Say Hello
Sun Airway – Foam
Syd – All About Me
Neon Bunny – All I Want Is You
Half Waif – Severed Logic
Sampha – (No One Knows Me) Like The Piano
Men I Trust – Lauren
B.Miles – Running
Maria Minerva – Immune To My Charms
These Sticky Fingers – Lovesong (The Cure cover)
ACES – Just Cut It Out
Marian Hill – Down
Freedom Fry – Awake
Julie Byrne – I Live Now As A Singer
Fog Lake & Home Alone – Push
Teen Daze ft. S.Carey – First Rain
Lydia Ainsworth – The Road
Hand Habits – Sun Beholds Me
Cellars – Do You Miss Me
Run The Jewels – Oh Mama

Newly Minted Turkish Label Drug Boulevard Announces Compilation, Stream ACES Lead Single From It

 photo drugblvd_zps00wm9bvb.png

Drug Boulevard is the newly minted Istanbul-based dream pop label from the founders of the celebrated Turkish progressive/trance label, Blue Soho. As an introduction, the label is releasing a compilation, named DRUB BLVD after the label, on February 17th nearly two years in the making due to logistics and geopolitical occurrences during that time in Turkey. Mastered by renowned engineer Barry Grint of Alchemy UK, the collection features new and exclusive songs from artists spanning the globe, including ACES, Astronautica, FMLYBND, DAUNT, Leo Kalyan, SRNO (feat. MOONZz), Mammals) and GOSTO. The artists were selected, according to founder Kubilay, for “doing something brilliant and inspiring,” while “doing everything they do for all the right reasons.”

The first reveal comes from rising Brooklyn singer ACES, who has slowly been gaining traction over the last year with her downtempo slant of pop music in singles “I’m Already Gone” and “If I Could Be Your Girl”.” “Just Cut It Out” is effervescent track blending hazing vocals with romantic synths and delicately crafted production stirring emotions, while soothing at same time.

Listen to Hand Habits’ Latest Song “Sun Beholds Me”

 photo handhabits_zps3bmlmuis.png

February 10th will see the release of Wildly Idle (Humble Before The Void), the intimate debut collection of bedroom lullabies from Meg Duffy, aka Hand Habits. “Sun Beholds Me” is the third reveal from the album following the lovely “Flower Glass” and “All the While.” This is an album you want playing in the background while sitting near a cracking fire, while sipping a bourbon with a cigarette in hand and blanket draped around you. Pre-order it here.

Tour Dates:
01/18 Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg *
02/10 Brooklyn, NY – Baby’s All Right #
02/11 Philadelphia, PA – Everybody Hits #
02/12 Cambridge, MA – Lily Pad #
02/13 Portland, ME – Apohadian Theatre #
02/14 Winooski, VT – The Monkey House #
02/15 Montreal, QC – La Vitrola #
02/16 Albany, NY – House Show #
02/18 Washington DC – Songbyrd DC #
02/19 Asheville, NC – The Mothlight #
02/20 Louisville, KY – Zanzabar #
02/21 Chicago, IL – Schuba’s #
02/22 Columbus, OH – Rumba Cafe #
03/14 – 03/18 Austin, TX – SXSW

* = ACLU / PP Benefit show w/ Kevin Morby, Sharon Van Etten, Beirut, Daniel Rossen
# = w/ John Andrews & The Yawns

Sampha Shares Gorgeous New Song “(No One Knows Me) Like The Piano”

 photo sampha_zpss1ozvln0.jpg

(no one knows me) like the piano is dedicated to my mother binty sisay. the more time that passes, the more i see the extent of her love for me. – Sampha

South London’s Sampha Sisay has his long-overdue debut long-play, Process, out next month on February 3rd through Young Turks and it is going to be good. If “Blood On Me” or “Timmy’s Prayer” still left you unsure, stunning new song “(No One Knows Me) Like The Piano” should wipe away that uncertainty. The touching ballad will give you goose-bumps from start to finish. If it doesn’t hit some sort of emotional chord for you, then you might want to check to see if you are alive. Pre-order the album here.

Watch Video from The Internet’s Syd for New Track “All About You”

 photo syd3_zps1ula3qpi.jpg

Syd of The Internet is expected to drop to her debut solo album sometime real soon. It is easily one of the release we are looking forward to the most in 2017. Today, she dropped the first official taste from that LP titled “All About You” produced by Steve Lacy. There is no other way to describe the song, but as smooth-as-fuck and ideal for a weekend of night cruising with the windows or top down.

Stream Ariel Pink and Weyes Blood’s “Tears On Fire” from New Collaborative EP

 photo ariel-pink-and-weyes-blood-myths-002_zpswh4aeiwj.jpg

Marfa Myths, the curated festival in the Texas art town from Mexican Summer founded in 2014 has slowly become a must attend pre-cursor to the chaos of SXSW. the 2017 edition of the event brings the likes of Julia Holter, Purfume Genius, Allah-Las, Cate Le Bon, Weyes Blood and more. Given the eclectic collection of artists, Mexican Summer used it as an opportunity to get two of them together to collaborate on an EP to be given out at the follow year’s event. Last year gave us the interesting combo of Devonté Hynes and Connan Mockasin for Marfa Myths Vol. 1 this year’s is just as compelling. For Marfa Myths Vol. 2 the aforementioned Weyes Blood mixes her charming sunshine-soaked folk with Ariel Pink’s quirky, off-center pop sensibilities for a four-song offering resulting in understated, mystical gems packaged in a dusty coating. Purchase the EP here.

Lydia Ainsworth Announces New Album, Shares First Single “The Road” Via Video

 photo lydiaainsworth2_zpsffqjpsrg.jpg

Toronto’s Lydia Ainsworth has revealed the details for the follow-up to her fantastic 2014 debut Right From Real. The sophomore LP, titled Darling of the Afterglow, is set for release March 31st via Arbutus Records and Bella Union. If the absolutely stunning first track revealed “The Road” is any indication, expect a sophisticated slant of pop music mixing electronic and classical instrumentation in a lusher, more mature form than her previous efforts. The song is just beautiful conveying a delicate strength in a dream-like haze and the video, directed by her sister Abby Ainsworth, only accentuates these elements. Pre-order the album on limited edition white vinyl and other formats here.

1. The Road
2. What Is It?
3. Ricochet
4. Afterglow
5. Open Doors
6. Spinning
7. Into The Blue
8. Wicked Game
9. I Can Feel It All
10. WLCM
11. Nighttime Watching